3do VCD card add-on

All general 3DO chat here please.

Moderators: 3DO Experience, Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
Madroms
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 10:30 pm
Contact:

3do VCD card add-on

Post by Madroms » Sun May 31, 2009 10:01 pm

Does anyone know which version of 3do got its VCD card add-on released ? And in which part of the world ?

Goldstar ?
FZ-1 ?
FZ-10 ?
Sanyo ?
...

Thanks

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:45 pm

Ok I was waiting to see if someone with more knowledge would answer this.

Goldstar/LG - USA: Yes, Others: dunno
FZ-1 - Japan: Yes, Others: No (however I have heard of a limited USA release but I think it's just a pipe dream)
FZ-10 - Japan: Yes, Others: No
Sanyo - I wanna say no?
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4683
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:58 am

It was all Japan / S.Korea wasn't it? VCD bombed in europe, but was quite the success in Asia. So I heard.

Madroms
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 10:30 pm
Contact:

Post by Madroms » Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:28 pm

Thanks guys.

So, no European release of it ? I thought there was one (for the FZ-1 ?).

Yep, VCD was, and is a success in Asia :P

Does anyone try it with its 3DO ? Good quality of video ? PAL/NTSC compatible ?

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:38 pm

I have the US Goldstar one and it works with PAL VCDs. In fact I've never had anything not play a PAL VCD.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

Madroms
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 10:30 pm
Contact:

Post by Madroms » Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:14 pm

Great :D So they did a great job back then ;)

Post Reply