Can you make your own Photo CDs for use on 3DO?

All general 3DO chat here please.

Moderators: 3DO Experience, Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
User avatar
Calavera
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:07 am

Can you make your own Photo CDs for use on 3DO?

Post by Calavera » Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 am

Is it possible to simply burn some jpg or bmp files to a cd and have them show up on the 3DO or do you need to burn them a certain way. I'm just curious.
Image

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Jul 09, 2011 3:51 pm

Nope, there was a thread called 3DO & photo cds but as it turned out the only software that can make the discs can't make ones compatible with 3DO.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Calavera
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:07 am

Post by Calavera » Sat Jul 09, 2011 4:04 pm

Thats whack man! :evil:
Image

User avatar
sneth
Nibbler
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: STL
Contact:

Post by sneth » Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:27 pm

first hit on google.
seems there is 3rd party software to do it.

http://tedfelix.com/PhotoCD/PCDMakeYourOwn.html

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:50 pm

3DO Experience wrote:Nope, there was a thread called 3DO & photo cds but as it turned out the only software that can make the discs can't make ones compatible with 3DO.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
BryWI
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1334
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Contact:

Post by BryWI » Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:17 pm

3DO have it's own standard for photo discs? or is the problem that there is no standard? This really shouldn't be too difficult to figure out if I had a disc image of a photo cd that did work, something not copyrighted of course.

User avatar
phatrat1982
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:01 pm
Location: USA

Post by phatrat1982 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm

From what I read on that article in the link it is something Kodak purposefully made difficult because they wanted to keep all the money for themselves. Apparently Kodak wants you to purchase a special type of disc directly from them as well as software but it turns out they no longer support this format at least that was how it sounded.
"You can call me THE RAT thank you very much"
My Blog> http://ratodd.blogspot.com/
Youtube Channel> http://www.youtube.com/user/phatrat1982

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:03 pm

Yeah that's about it. No software was supposed to be available to the public. The only software that's leaked is a slightly different format not supported by 3DO machines.

They tried charging me like $15 for a roll of film to be turned into a CD once.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
sneth
Nibbler
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: STL
Contact:

Post by sneth » Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:38 pm

i'll give this a shot
I think the biggest problem is going to be finding compatible jpg formats.

Jones
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jones » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:59 am

I'm not quite sure if it even uses JPG. Wasn't it TIFF or TGA?

User avatar
sneth
Nibbler
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: STL
Contact:

Post by sneth » Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:35 pm

Hrm dunno. Good point.

I actually have a few Kodak photo cd's from back in the day.
This is on the bottom of my priority list, but I bet we can come up with something.

Post Reply