Burning questions!

All general 3DO chat here please.

Moderators: 3DO Experience, Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
Spankenstein
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:28 pm

Burning questions!

Post by Spankenstein » Thu May 03, 2012 10:36 pm

Hi there,

Received my Japanese Panasonic 3DO FZ-1 today and I thought I'd try burning a disc for the system. The problem is that the disc loads absolutely fine but the audio will skip.

I have the feeling it is because I burned the disc at 8x speed but I am not certain so I thought I would ask here for some expert advice.

Do I have to burn at 1x? If so, how can I force 1x speed for a CD-R drive that doesn't support it?

I'm using a Taiyo Yuden 700MB CD-R so it should produce quality results. Perhaps the system itself is at fault?

Thanks :)

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Fri May 04, 2012 4:30 am

A quick search should yield multiple threads that discuss this in detail.
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

Spankenstein
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:28 pm

Post by Spankenstein » Fri May 04, 2012 10:17 am

The problem is that the disc loads absolutely fine but the audio will skip.
I've read around and you guys most seem to think this is attributed to a weak laser.

I found the best thread for fixing the 3DO here:

http://3do.cdinteractive.co.uk/viewtopi ... lace+laser

and that leads me to a laser replacement option.

BUT...

Has any tried the laser pointed out in that thread and can they confirm it works well?

http://www.donberg.ie/descript/s/sf_92.5_12.htm

EDIT:

The repair instructions are no longer available:

http://www.datacentra.net/other/3do/index.html

Does anyone have a backup? Wayback machine doesn't have it...

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1836
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Fri May 04, 2012 9:36 pm

Audio sometimes skips with burned media in my FZ-10. Try burning your discs at a lower speed. Not that I should be condoning that or anything. Because I don't.

Spankenstein
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:28 pm

Post by Spankenstein » Fri May 04, 2012 10:38 pm

Austin wrote:Try burning your discs at a lower speed.
How do I force a drive to do that when it won't go lower than 8x?
Austin wrote:Not that I should be condoning that or anything. Because I don't.
I'm quite happy to post pictures of the owned sealed copies of games that I am burning (with my username in the picture) :)

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1836
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Sat May 05, 2012 9:03 pm

Spankenstein wrote:
Austin wrote:Try burning your discs at a lower speed.
How do I force a drive to do that when it won't go lower than 8x?
I don't know. It depends on your CD burner and your software. One drive I have can't go less than 8x (or something like that), while my other drive can do 4x. I use Nero when burning discs.

User avatar
vestcoat
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Minneapolis

Post by vestcoat » Tue May 08, 2012 9:16 pm

Don't worry about trying to burn at x1 or x4. Those speeds were for old drives back when the technology sucked. The slowest speed on a new drive is better than the slowest speed on an old drive. Also, burning too slow can cause the laser to bleed into the surrounding pits.

BTW, where did you find 700MB Taiyo Yuden's?

Spankenstein
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:28 pm

Post by Spankenstein » Wed May 09, 2012 9:23 pm

BTW, where did you find 700MB Taiyo Yuden's?
Get these Taiyo's from Amazon:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Taiyo-Shiny-Sil ... 898&sr=8-2

Has anyone got the FIFA (US Version) to burn correctly? It skips and crashes on my 3DO.

EDIT: It appears that the premium grade JVC are crap even though they are supposed to be re-branded Taiyo Yuden CD-Rs.

My sampler CD plays fine with no skipping, JVC CD-R of the same image skips like crazy.

Any suggestions for better CD-R media?

User avatar
BryWI
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1334
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Contact:

Post by BryWI » Thu May 10, 2012 5:18 am

I would blame the laser before blaming CDRs. My 3DO pretty much refuses to read CDRs anymore, but will read normal discs fine. Even brands of discs it used to read fine, now give me troubles. Over time, most of the lasers in the 3DO systems are going to give out. CDR use will make the laser struggle more to read and possibly reduce it's lifespan.

Spankenstein
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:28 pm

Post by Spankenstein » Thu May 10, 2012 11:53 am

I would blame the laser before blaming CDRs.
Does a bad laser cause your system to crash at any point?

I will invest in a new laser if this is the case.

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4683
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Thu May 10, 2012 2:06 pm

Make sure you get the right laser. There appears to be two versions of the SF92.512 a newer one which is easy to get hold of. An older one which seems impossible to buy. The newer one is the same spec laser but the cables are different. and unless you are a cable ninja you are heading for disappointment.

WHat I intend to do is find a device that used the same laser, with same pins (a device from antiquity) and butcher it up to use in my 3DO. Easier than having to rewire a new one.

Spankenstein
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:28 pm

Post by Spankenstein » Thu May 10, 2012 3:11 pm

The newer one is the same spec laser but the cables are different
Do you know of any pictures that outline the differences?

I can ask on the following site:

http://www.donberg.ie/descript/s/sf_92.5_12.htm

and see if they sell the correct one, if armed with the correct pictorial information.

Thanks :)

Spankenstein
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:28 pm

Post by Spankenstein » Sun May 13, 2012 8:48 pm

Anyone? I would like to know I buying the correct item.

If it is the new one in the site above (most likely), can anyone please point me to a site that shows me what I have to do to rewire it (i.e. the cable ninja route)?

Thanks

Spankenstein
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:28 pm

Post by Spankenstein » Mon May 14, 2012 8:47 pm


Post Reply