Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

All general 3DO chat here please.

Moderators: 3DO Experience, Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:37 pm

So yeah, I wanted an upconverted 480p picture for my 3DO gaming experience, so I got it. I have a DVD recorder with video in capabilities, so I went for it. Been playing with just RCA cables, and it looked a bit better, however, upon switching to S-Video, I can say I thought my eyeballs would pop out of their sockets. In this particular instance, it has made a HUGE difference. Where the picture was a bit blurry through the AV Cables, this is VERY sharp, and crystal clear. I know that S-Video used to make a little bit of a difference back in the day with standard definition televisions, but this is huge. The color depth alone completely changes. I just can't believe how good the games look now. It really is a huge difference. So, how do you game on your 3DO? What's your set up and what difference to the image and sound quality does it make for you?
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
sneth
Nibbler
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: STL
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by sneth » Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:13 pm

I run an upscaler for any of my 480i systems. This was primarily for laserdiscs, but I found it worked great for classic consoles as well.

For some games it can make it worse to sharpen the image, but this is rare.

Ultimately, I would love to have an XRGB3 or XRGB-mini. Both are amazing as seen here. http://retrogaming.hazard-city.de/framemeister.html

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by 3DO Experience » Tue Jun 18, 2013 5:30 pm

For me mostly RGB via SCART to YpBpR converter to a SONY WEGA. As for 3DO I use the S-Video jack.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1836
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by Austin » Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:40 am

I just use a Sony Wega/Trinitron with the composite connection. It looks fine on my TV. Although speaking of which, I need to find my S-Video cable again. I used to have it hooked up with that.. Not a huge difference on my TV though, to be honest.

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:32 pm

I've got a LG 42" HDTV (42LS3450 if anyone's interested) & it doesn't have a S-Video input :( That's the way I used to use my 3DO a couple of years ago (before I sold it to clear debts) on my old SD TV & it was a really good picture.

This new HD TV has RGB, regular aerial, 2 HDMIs, & Y Pb Pr L R. What would you all suggest when I buy back into 3DO in a couple of months?

I've seen Wiis upgraded to become very jaggy, & my Virgin Media looks awesome on the HD channels but the SD channels (not that I watch them) aren't great. So any help on deciding how to go about this would be great!
Image

oldskool
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by oldskool » Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:08 am

Yup it's quite amazing how good of a picture the 3DO puts out with S-Video! Back in the day I just used the standard composite cables, I'd say about 5 years ago I switched. What a lovely picture it now has. 36" Sanyo CRT.
Image

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Sun Sep 01, 2013 9:26 pm

oldskool wrote:Yup it's quite amazing how good of a picture the 3DO puts out with S-Video! Back in the day I just used the standard composite cables, I'd say about 5 years ago I switched. What a lovely picture it now has. 36" Sanyo CRT.
Hmm... does this mean my non-S:Video HD TV will actually have an inferior picture for my 3DO compared to my old CRT...? Or is there any S:Video to RGB/SCART/Composite/Component/HDMI magic cable available?
Image

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:48 pm

3DwhO wrote:
oldskool wrote:Yup it's quite amazing how good of a picture the 3DO puts out with S-Video! Back in the day I just used the standard composite cables, I'd say about 5 years ago I switched. What a lovely picture it now has. 36" Sanyo CRT.
Hmm... does this mean my non-S:Video HD TV will actually have an inferior picture for my 3DO compared to my old CRT...? Or is there any S:Video to RGB/SCART/Composite/Component/HDMI magic cable available?
If you buy a cheap DVD Recorder that has S-Video in, you output the picture through the Component jacks and you'll get a cleaner than S-Video picture. That way you don't have to worry about the S-Video jack not being on your Television either.It really looks very clean and it sell worth it. All you have to do is go in set up, select video in and select it as S-Video versus component. Just saying. :mrgreen:
Last edited by T2KFreeker on Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Fri Sep 06, 2013 12:01 am

T2KFreeker wrote:
3DwhO wrote:
oldskool wrote:Yup it's quite amazing how good of a picture the 3DO puts out with S-Video! Back in the day I just used the standard composite cables, I'd say about 5 years ago I switched. What a lovely picture it now has. 36" Sanyo CRT.
Hmm... does this mean my non-S:Video HD TV will actually have an inferior picture for my 3DO compared to my old CRT...? Or is there any S:Video to RGB/SCART/Composite/Component/HDMI magic cable available?
If you buy a cheap DVD Recorder that has S-Video in, you output the picture through the Component jacks and you'll get a cleaner than S-Video picture. That way you don't have to worry about the S-Video jack not being on your Television either.It really looks very clean and it sell worth it. All you have to do is go in set up, select video in a,d select it as S-Video versus component. Just saying. :mrgreen:
Ooooh, really? Hmm... I'll keep this in mind for a possible upgrade then! I'll make do with what I have that comes with it then if I know I can do this in a month or two. Thank you! :D
Image

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Sat Sep 14, 2013 1:23 pm

Been looking around for options as my 3DO arrived today and as feared the picture is grainy and washed out, like all SD pictures on that damned TV. Found these on eBay just now though, has anyone ever used one of these? If so, would you recommend them? Or would they give that dreaded "jaggy" picture?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3RCA-AV-Compo ... 6565wt_934

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1080P-3-RCA-A ... 007wt_1172

Any help at all is GREATLY appreciated!

T2KFreeker, you said to use the Component cables with a DVD recorder, but I'm afraid my TV may still treat that like a SD picture and give me a bad result. Would using a DVD recorder with HDMI output make a better difference? As your idea is still an option too.

Or should I stick with one of the two options above in those links?
Image

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Sep 14, 2013 1:56 pm

I don;t know about those but the XRGB-mini FRAMEMEISTER is the absolute best from what I've heard. Even those that didn't like the XRGB-mini 1 & 2 say this is the one to get. It does look to cost around £250 on evilbay though, so it might do you better to shop around on sites.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:11 pm

Oh flip no, there's no way I could afford that. It's annoying that this TV is still new (under a year) so I can hardly justify buying a new TV either unfortunately. But do these converters like I've mentioned actually work well...? Even at a much cheaper price than the £200+ one, spenidng £40 for an improved picture is still dear enough for me right now!
Image

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:22 pm

You know something? I have my old CRT upstairs, I may just have to have two TVs in my living room. One for actual TV, movies etc. and one for 3DO.

Overkill? Or dedication? ;)
Image

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Sep 14, 2013 6:27 pm

Dedication definitely. I bought a SONY WEGA Trinitron just for gaming, beautiful picture and light gun games still work.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Sat Sep 14, 2013 6:42 pm

Sadly enough I'm actually sitting in work thinking how cool it'll be to lie on one end of my couch to watch TV, Blu Rays etc, then just lie on the other end to play 3DO on the other TV. Got a long weekend off next week so I'll have it set up by then! Can't wait! I'll post up what I received when I get home.
Image

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:51 am

3DwhO wrote:Been looking around for options as my 3DO arrived today and as feared the picture is grainy and washed out, like all SD pictures on that damned TV. Found these on evilbay just now though, has anyone ever used one of these? If so, would you recommend them? Or would they give that dreaded "jaggy" picture?

http://www.evilbay.co.uk/itm/3RCA-AV-Co ... 6565wt_934

http://www.evilbay.co.uk/itm/1080P-3-RC ... 007wt_1172

Any help at all is GREATLY appreciated!

T2KFreeker, you said to use the Component cables with a DVD recorder, but I'm afraid my TV may still treat that like a SD picture and give me a bad result. Would using a DVD recorder with HDMI output make a better difference? As your idea is still an option too.

Or should I stick with one of the two options above in those links?
Any time I have tried to upconvert a standards picture like this for games with HDMI, there is some serious LAG issues. I can say that the picture, the way I described it, doesn't look washed out, especially if your television will allow you to use Color Matrix. Just select HD VS SD, and really, it works out well.
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
Martin III
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 998
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:32 am
Location: United States of America

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by Martin III » Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:16 pm

3DO Experience wrote:Dedication definitely. I bought a SONY WEGA Trinitron just for gaming, beautiful picture and light gun games still work.
Yeah, if I had the space to comfortably set up two TVs in my basement, I'd buy a Cathode Ray TV right now. I have light guns for both my 3DO and Saturn, and right now the only way I can use them is by borrowing my friend's TV while I'm at her house. (For someone who's never played video games, she's remarkably understanding of the fact that I need an old TV set for these to work. But still...)

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Sun Sep 15, 2013 4:10 pm

Yeah I've gone from thinking it'll look a bit weird and cumbersome to thinking it's going to be great! At the end of the day it's my house, I'm not sharing it, and I want my 3DO in my living room in pride of place :D
Image

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:31 am

3DwhO wrote:Yeah I've gone from thinking it'll look a bit weird and cumbersome to thinking it's going to be great! At the end of the day it's my house, I'm not sharing it, and I want my 3DO in my living room in pride of place :D
Word! Use that PS3 as a 3DO stand! It's all good!
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by knightintosh » Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:21 am

T2KFreeker wrote:
3DwhO wrote:Yeah I've gone from thinking it'll look a bit weird and cumbersome to thinking it's going to be great! At the end of the day it's my house, I'm not sharing it, and I want my 3DO in my living room in pride of place :D
Word! Use that PS3 as a 3DO stand! It's all good!
If I had one that'd be all it would be good for in my opinion :lol:
Image

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:56 am

3DwhO wrote:
T2KFreeker wrote:
3DwhO wrote:Yeah I've gone from thinking it'll look a bit weird and cumbersome to thinking it's going to be great! At the end of the day it's my house, I'm not sharing it, and I want my 3DO in my living room in pride of place :D
Word! Use that PS3 as a 3DO stand! It's all good!
If I had one that'd be all it would be good for in my opinion :lol:
Actually, to be truthful, I kind of like my PS3, however, not as much as I like my 3DO. :wink:
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:39 am

I thought that this might also be a really good thread to bump so that it would hopefully help some of the new users get an idea on how to get the cleanest possible picture on their newest LCD Televisions. :wink:
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
FZ-10
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 5:14 am

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by FZ-10 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:13 am

I don't bother with LCD tvs with classic consoles. I use a composite to BNC connection on my broadcast JVC monitor. Picture is gorgeous.
podcast & vidcast @ gaikokugamers.com
daytonausa @ atariage.com
lostworldarcade @ xbl

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:16 am

FZ-10 wrote:I don't bother with LCD tvs with classic consoles. I use a composite to BNC connection on my broadcast JVC monitor. Picture is gorgeous.
Yeah, that's all good. I'd have different Televisions and such sitting around my pad, but sadly, there is not much room as my Apartment isn't that big. In the end though, when I want the picture to look perfect in that old school way, I have an older Amiga monitor that is in excellent condition that I hook the 3DO or any of my other consoles up to. The LCD TV with the upconversion does look pretty darn nice though, I have to admit.
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
NeoGeoNinja
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 5:42 pm

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by NeoGeoNinja » Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:47 am

I just use composite for my 3DO as it happens, straight from the 3 phonos at the rear, to the phonos on the front of the TV (CRT). The picture quality is surprisingly decent for Composite IMO.

EVERY other console I have is hooked up via RGB SCART via powered multi-SCART blocks, for the best possible picture. Alas, my FZ1 isn't RGB compatible.

It's the only machine I own that isn't. Hell, I even managed to get my PAL N64 RGB modified a while back (PAL N64s CANNOT output RGB as standard. Additional circuitry has to be added to make it RGB capable).

I saw an RGB modded FZ1 for sale recently, but I just didn't have the money to buy it :|

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:28 pm

NeoGeoNinja wrote:I just use composite for my 3DO as it happens, straight from the 3 phonos at the rear, to the phonos on the front of the TV (CRT). The picture quality is surprisingly decent for Composite IMO.

EVERY other console I have is hooked up via RGB SCART via powered multi-SCART blocks, for the best possible picture. Alas, my FZ1 isn't RGB compatible.

It's the only machine I own that isn't. Hell, I even managed to get my PAL N64 RGB modified a while back (PAL N64s CANNOT output RGB as standard. Additional circuitry has to be added to make it RGB capable).

I saw an RGB modded FZ1 for sale recently, but I just didn't have the money to buy it :|
3DO RCA isn't that bad when using a CRT though, so it should still look rather crispy and colorful. I just hate the way the stuff looks when using RCA/S-Video straight up to an LCD television. All of the older systems just look wrong.
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

CatPix
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:47 am

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by CatPix » Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:58 pm

Well I just got a Sony Bravia LCD TV, and... well. I guess that's the difference between a LCD sold 5 years ago for 1200€ and his Samsung equivalent sold for 450...
The picture is crisp clear.
I wouldn't go up to saying it's equivalent to CRT, but damn it's sharp. You gotta recall to remove ALL picture enhancements, and push the "sharpness" cursor up to the max (or min) depending on your TV. And once you've done that, well at least on the Bravia, it's fine and dandy, even with composite.

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by T2KFreeker » Thu Jun 05, 2014 6:22 pm

Well, after playing D last night, I can tell you that my set up isn't exactly perfect. It was cool to play the game again, for sure, but on this set up, the game is Ugly as Sin! Maybe it's always been that way? I find it hard to believe though as I always thought the game was actually quite a good looking game to begin with anyway. At least back in the day it was. I miss comb filters, dammit! Why can't televisions have those anymore? :lol: So basically, all of my games have looked pretty good until I played D. Makes me sad because I love that game.
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

CasetheCorvetteman
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 4:09 am

Re: Best picture quality? How do you 3DO?

Post by CasetheCorvetteman » Sat Nov 08, 2014 2:03 am

We need RGB...
The man that beat the self proclaimed "best in the world" at The Need For Speed...

Post Reply