Digital audio mod fz-1 3do

Tools and projects
Post Reply
acem77
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Ohio

Digital audio mod fz-1 3do

Post by acem77 » Mon Mar 21, 2011 6:05 pm

I have start to get the digital audio itch after modding a psx, snes, and gamecube.
It got me thinking and now i have found a way to mod the 3do and jaguar.
I did this before work this morning, ill have to tinker with it more.
Wolfenstein sounded great!

big picture
http://www.greatlakesvista.com/download ... DO_JAG.JPG

Qcombus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:51 pm

Post by Qcombus » Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:20 am

Woah, that's really neat :shock: ! I'd love to hear the 3DO in digital!

acem77
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Ohio

Post by acem77 » Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:57 am

tested it a bit more today after work, love how ssf2t sounds,
I am hearing things i never noticed in the music before.
I also have a way to slow down the sound, sounds funny:)
this would be a great way to record music should be lossless.

i plan to make some digital audio pcbs to sell as kits or installs for these systems.

snes
3do
jaguar
psx
saturn
dreamcast
gamecube

waiting for an oscilloscope to fine tune a few systems.
snes and jaguar need some extra tlc, snes as is will not work on picky recievers,
my denon hates it but my sony likes it... to bad the denon is my main device.
got the snes working on the denon with some sound jitter/static with some tones.

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:01 am
Location: Rugby, UK

Post by Scarlettkitten » Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:28 pm

Nice work there 8)
My 3DO collection
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 7c5737b1dc

3x US FZ1s 1xJAP FZ1 & 1x UK Goldstar with knackered cd drive.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Wed Mar 23, 2011 12:20 am

interested.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
boabject78
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Scotland

Post by boabject78 » Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:47 am

What a fabulous mod my friend I would love to hear my 3do pumping out digital Pro Logic as I cut down those pesky genestealers with my twin bolter. A few questions come to mind though,
1. Does using the digital out mod eliminate the 'popping' that I hear when using the analogue outs?
2. Is there anywhere in the UK that actually mods 3dos cos I cant seem to find any, which is a shame.

Jones
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jones » Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:11 pm

boabject78 wrote: 1. Does using the digital out mod eliminate the 'popping' that I hear when using the analogue outs?
I'm not quite sure which popping noises you are referring to, but if it's
the popping that occurs every now and then only on FZ-1s I'd say no.
This popping is due to a software bug within the BIOS files, it's not a
hardware problem.

User avatar
boabject78
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Scotland

Post by boabject78 » Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:19 pm

I'm sure i read somewhere that the 3do's analogue outs are set too high thus leading to the popping during audio playback.....
I've always had my consoles hooked up to an amp since the Mega Drive days but with the 3do I always had to enable analogue attenuation on the amp to help dampen the signal from the 3do.
I'm pretty sure my Goldstar 3do did the exact same.

Jones
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jones » Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:25 am

Yes, the 3DO surely sends out a quite powerful signal. Compared to the
audio out of my MAC or my CD32 it's clearly louder. I don't know if it's
still within any standards or above, but my amp (Harman/Kardon) seems
to cope with it. Maybe other amps dont - I have no idea.
But yes, in this case the audio mod would probably help!

User avatar
boabject78
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 1:49 am
Location: Scotland

Post by boabject78 » Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:38 am

I definitely want to have my 3do modded now, even just to play music cds thru the digital out would make me smile. The RGB mod would be nice aswell.
So would finding a local modding service.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Digital audio mod fz-1 3do

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:49 pm

How's this going?
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

acem77
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Ohio

Re: Digital audio mod fz-1 3do

Post by acem77 » Thu Jan 23, 2014 10:36 pm

i had it working perfect, but never made the pcbs, I have all the parts for multiple mods.
just got busy with other things.

Post Reply