3DO ZONE Forums
http://3do.cdinteractive.co.uk/

3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)
http://3do.cdinteractive.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=3605
Page 3 of 3

Author:  Optimus [ Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

That's interesting, I can't think at first why would that be. Maybe something in specific enemies AI that uses the BSP visibility? I also wonder about the hitscanner attacks of the spidermastermind, however when it's the last enemy and shoots fast, it doesn't go slow. I thought BSP was just used for the players visibility of wall segments. I might take a look at some point at the BSP code to understand more. There is way more I don't know about Doom yet.

Author:  Versus [ Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

As I said, there's no matter which types of monsters are on level. It may be all types without SpiderM and we'll have all this freezes. The freezes is less if there are less types of monsters in FOV or nearby.
I think that SortAllSprites function do all of this. Can't said in detail what exact in there causes this.

Author:  Optimus [ Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

Ok, that's interesting. I might look at the function at some point to see if I can understand what's going on.

Couldn't build the rez file properly I think. The wad utility crashes at some maps, so I run the batch files and there are crashes at some moments although it continues.
I would have liked to build the rez for the original code. This one adds the new monsters and all, so maybe I might have to build your own code in the archive. Or remove the new resources from the txt. I might have tried to add the new rez file in my project iso but freezed.

Maybe I'll look at it later again, now I am experimenting with some other things on the rendering.

Author:  Versus [ Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

That PACK is fully workable. There are all original maps except the first one, which is my own test map. If you have crashes in that pack, try to set Windows XP compability for the WAD utility. I'll upload the WAD util source later so you may generate the binary for your own PC configuration.
If you are getting the crashes for different maps it may be because of huge size of the maps.
If you want to build the REZFILE for the original code, remove all new resources from the BuildScr.txt file and from flats.txt, LoadFlats.txt, LoadFlatsBMP.txt and also from _Convert.bat. I'll try to search original REZFILE generation in my archives.

Author:  Versus [ Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

Here it's the source of 3DO WAD converter. Never mind the name of the project. :|
https://cloud.mail.ru/public/EaMG/Uvmh4Nv4h

Author:  Optimus [ Thu Mar 16, 2017 8:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

Thanks!

It would be useful to have the original resource .txts

Author:  Versus [ Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

Here it's the PACK_orig_REZFILE for making original REZFILE. WAD files from Github differs with lumps in original REZFILE (few items are replaced and so on), so I edited them. As a result we'll get not exact byte2byte REZFILE.
If you want to make byte2byte REZFILE, see PACK2. D00** files represents an extracted REZFILE with modern Makerez app which couldn't make REZFILE for 3DO. But in this case it's hard to edit the resources, you must make your own *.bat file. I recomend to use PACK_orig_REZFILE or replace all named level lumps in PACK_orig_REZFILE with D00** files from PACK2.
All resources from REZFILE have not names, so all txt scripts were made by me for more convinient work.
https://cloud.mail.ru/public/Cw28/RwLVKtDRA
https://cloud.mail.ru/public/46sY/cvjHoKQoF

Author:  Optimus [ Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

Thanks, I finally managed to edit e1m1 as a test and it works. Indeed I had to switch to BSP-Win32 (I didn't even know these options before on Doom Builder) and without this option I had very slow or freezing speed and mistakes like passing through some sectors. Now, I noticed something that may or may not be related with your problems of things turning very slow when monsters wake up. There are two options in DoomBuilder, "BSP-Win32-Normal" and "BSP-Win32-Fast (No Reject)". I tried the Normal so far.

From what I read here: http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/Reject, the Reject table is something that speeds up monster check for seeing the player. This seems very relevant to your test, only when the monsters wake up and have to check for visibility of the player it goes very slow. Maybe you build with fast option? I will also check putting some monsters and building without reject table to see if there is a difference.

p.s. As an irrelevant note, I do remember now there was this reject table and few clever WADs were hacking it somehow, so they made a sector in the floor with pentagram shape where the player can go and suddenly the monsters will ignore the player and not shoot even if naturally he was in sight, like it's some magic pentagram of protection. There are so much happening behind Doom I still discover.

Author:  Versus [ Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

"BSP-Win32-Fast (No Reject)" - same results... :(

Author:  Optimus [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

Yes me too, I just did a big level with many enemies, either reject or not, mine doesn't slow down.

I think I might try to compile your code and use your rez to see what's going on.

Author:  Versus [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3DO Doom succesfully compiled (but no way to run it)

It would be great! Another problem is with sounds. If I add more than 4-6 sounds, the same freezes occured.
If you need to see how to make own sprites, I'll upload all new sprites with my app and their scripts.

Page 3 of 3 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/