CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Tools and projects
Post Reply
User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by blabla » Sun May 24, 2015 6:49 am

Ladies and Gentlemen,
the first emulator for 3DO !

Granted, it's not as advanced as the PSX's CHIP8 emulator one due to me hitting some bugs
in the 3DO libraries...
At least you can play with the controller unlike the PSX's one.

The CHIP-8 is the probably the only console (it's a VM actually) with the most emulators on the web.
I heard there's even a port for Colecovision, crazy !
Ironically, only a few games were realised for it.

This 3DO release comes with Tetris but if you want to play another game,
you swap it too. (read the readme on how to do this)

Binaries
Source code

Enjoy
Last edited by blabla on Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aer Fixus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 10:59 pm

Re: CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by Aer Fixus » Mon May 25, 2015 2:31 am

Wonderful! This is the first step for other emulators. I'm glad we have this activity. It might mean some cool stuff in the future.

I'm curious at what you did. I'll be sure to check out the source when I get time. In a couple weeks I'll be done with class and will be able to mess with stuff.

Now that you have Chip8 running, how far off is LameNES?

Also, as of this post, your signature doesn't link properly to this page.

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by blabla » Mon May 25, 2015 2:59 am

Thanks !
I'm currently in the process of porting it to NEC PC-FX.
If i had to improve it, i would implement a menu to configure the controls and include 10 more ROMS complete with a menu.
Aer Fixus wrote: Now that you have Chip8 running, how far off is LameNES?
I only need to add the ability to load ROMS from the executable.
While it was very easy to do with the CHIP8 emulator, that's a different story for LameNES.
It likes to use fread & fseek a lot, i feel like this is beyond me.
fopen unfortunely does not work...
That's the only issue preventing it from working properly.
Aer Fixus wrote: Also, as of this post, your signature doesn't link properly to this page.
3DO Zone only allow 5 URL links in signature so i had to choose.

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Re: CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by Versus » Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:57 pm

This files are missing. Can you upload them?

#include "SDL/SDL.h"
#include "SDL/SDL_keysym.h"

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Re: CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by 3DOKid » Wed Nov 04, 2015 10:10 pm

There is a small chance I am stupid, but what is this?

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by blabla » Thu Nov 05, 2015 1:08 pm

Versus wrote:This files are missing. Can you upload them?

#include "SDL/SDL.h"
#include "SDL/SDL_keysym.h"
Dude...
Look closer at the code :

Code: Select all

#ifdef THREEDO
	#include "3DO/GestionAffichage.h"
	#include "3DO/GestionSprites.h"
	#include "3DO/GestionTextes.h"
	#include "3DO/system.h"
#elif defined(PCFX)
	#include "PCFX/functions.h"
	#include "PCFX/input.h"
#else
	#include "SDL/SDL.h"
	#include "SDL/SDL_keysym.h"
	SDL_Surface* screen;
	SDL_Event event;
#endif
When compiling for 3DO, the THREEDO define is defined so it only needs the local headers i have provided.
Just to run Compile_and_make.bat and stop worrying.
There is a small chance I am stupid, but what is this?
I guess the Chip-8 is not that popular.
Consider the Chip-8 as an "imaginary" console made in the 70s designed to make programming games easier.
A bunch of games were released for it (most of them are clones) and my chip-8 emulator emulates theses chip-8 games on 3DO.

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Re: CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by Versus » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:53 am

blabla wrote: Dude...
Look closer at the code
Thanx! My mistake. :D

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by blabla » Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:53 pm

Hello guys, great news !

With the help of Saffron, i have figured out how to load files from the CD properly.
The chip8 emulator can now load files from the CD,
which means you no longer need a compiler if you want to play another game !

Simply swap the "rom.ch8" file with your own Chip8 game.

You can download it here.

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Re: CHIP8 Emulator for 3DO

Post by Versus » Sat Apr 02, 2016 11:27 pm

Great work! :)

Post Reply