3DO ZONE Forums

The Only R.E.A.L. 3DO Experience.
It is currently Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:10 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:59 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:34 pm
Posts: 243
Location: USA (occasionally Thailand)
Since I'm doing some magazine scanning, figured these images might be of intrest:

Image
Image

Drax

_________________
CEO of The (in search of a home) CD-i & 3DO Collectives

Just slightly behind at being ahead of our time!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:55 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:55 pm
Posts: 342
Location: GREECE
:!: :!: :!: Oh this is an auction i lost about two years ago because my 56k internet had problem... :cry: i think it was a bigger set,i need one very badly!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 12:37 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:33 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Germany
Mobius wrote:
Otherwise, WindowsKiller, can you PM me some contact info?

Sorry, I missed. What contact info are you looking for? :?

_________________
retro-net.de | Games That Weren't


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 6:07 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Chicago, IL
Oh, I was just interested in the SDK, but Madroms hooked me up. Thanks, though!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 10:59 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 4682
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Content library? Is this the stuff 3DO would give developers to aid them make games. Also the reason why so many "explosions" on the 3DO look the same?

_________________
Forum: http://cdinteractive.co.uk/3do/forum/
Tumblr: http://3dokid.tumblr.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:59 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:48 pm
Posts: 10
No fair posting unobtainium Drax! I'm sure homebrew devs would love to get their hands on the content library (there are 2 volumes IIRC), but I've never seen one for sale.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:15 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:48 pm
Posts: 10
Is the flash cart out yet? From what I've read the sticking point of homebrew on the Jag was that the proms to build actual carts are prohibitably expensive these days (ref:http://www.scatologic.com/), and the lack of any good emus.

3DO development has issues too, but they are arguably fixable now that the encryption key has been broken (ref:http://www.oldergamers.com).

T2KFreeker wrote:
Well, it is nice to see that these things actually still inspire people to do this kind of work. Over at JSII, there is a "Playground" for learning these kinds of things where programmers try and teach other people that are interrested to code for the Jaguar. Perhaps something like this would be ideal here? Especially if we are all serious about coding and getting games really going for the 3DO.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:21 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Chicago, IL
Unfortunately, Oldergames.com hasn't been updated in a year and a half, so we're all a little skeptical over whether the encryption really has been broken.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 2:50 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 1329
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
it has been broken, the creator of icebreaker 2 got back an encrypted disc that plays on a normal 3do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:23 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 111
Guy from http://thdo-homebrew.narod.ru/ said he can encrypt your binaries so he probably broke the encryption (or got the tool to do so).

This is the same guy you made 3DO commander, great tool for browsinf your 3DO Cd and extracting the contents.
[I put the last version (0.99) on my page]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:11 am 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
Do the disks work under FreeDo?

I thought there was a version of FreeDo that played unencrypted demo (version 1.6.2 or 1.7)? I just did a search (http://www.retrogames.com/cgi-bin/wwwth ... =flat&sb=2) and found that 1.7 WIP plays unencrypted betas.

I think MESS is the next 'big' step in homebrew for the 3DO, once it fully supports the 3DO.

It should be possible to patch the BIOS to cicumvent the protection, and being able to debug 3DO programs will be very helpful.

The Older Games releases may provide clues on getting around the encryption. From reading through the information on the encryption, menmonic seemed to indicate that code could be 'injected' into the system to defeat the protection..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 8:55 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Chicago, IL
There is a version of FreeDO that plays unencrypted ISOs, and I was able to get demos running on it. Unfortunately, there's some kind of bug in FreeDO that prevents it from reading input on my system and I can't actually play anything (it does this weird thing when I try to configure the controls where it cycles through every field as if I'm holding down the Tab key). So without a working version of FreeDO or a testing station, I haven't been able to make any further progress.

_________________
The Retro Review Project


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 6:42 pm 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
Mobius wrote:
There is a version of FreeDO that plays unencrypted ISOs, and I was able to get demos running on it. Unfortunately, there's some kind of bug in FreeDO that prevents it from reading input on my system and I can't actually play anything (it does this weird thing when I try to configure the controls where it cycles through every field as if I'm holding down the Tab key). So without a working version of FreeDO or a testing station, I haven't been able to make any further progress.


Did you use the latest MPW?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:00 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Chicago, IL
The problem is with FreeDO, not anything I wrote. Controller configuration just doesn't work on my PC.

_________________
The Retro Review Project


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 8:56 pm 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
Mobius wrote:
The problem is with FreeDO, not anything I wrote. Controller configuration just doesn't work on my PC.


I meant Macintosh Programmer's Workshop.

I tried 3.5 (the latest), and it was able to compile the examples.

What program did you use to build the CD?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:19 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Chicago, IL
Oh, I gotcha. Yeah, I used 3.5 and was able to compile the examples, no problem.

I also used MPW for creating the CD-ROM image. If you're using the SDK, there's a "laytool" in the "cdrommaster" folder. I just followed the instructions in the "Preparing Simple cdrom.image Files" document (DevDocs/ppgfldr/smmfldr/cdmfldr/03CDM003.html). That creates a raw ISO you can load with FreeDO or burn to play on a testing station.

_________________
The Retro Review Project


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:07 pm 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
Mobius wrote:
Oh, I gotcha. Yeah, I used 3.5 and was able to compile the examples, no problem.

I also used MPW for creating the CD-ROM image. If you're using the SDK, there's a "laytool" in the "cdrommaster" folder. I just followed the instructions in the "Preparing Simple cdrom.image Files" document (DevDocs/ppgfldr/smmfldr/cdmfldr/03CDM003.html). That creates a raw ISO you can load with FreeDO or burn to play on a testing station.


Is cdrom.zip on the InfinityDev ftp a valid CD?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:05 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Chicago, IL
Indeed, it is. It's the one Gir Draxa burned and ran on a testing station. (Video on page 2.)

_________________
The Retro Review Project


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:53 pm 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
Mobius wrote:
Indeed, it is. It's the one Gir Draxa burned and ran on a testing station. (Video on page 2.)


Awesome job in getting this working.

I initially tested the file in what I thought was 1.7 WIP, turned out I had 1.8. Once I switched to 1.7 it worked fine.

I'll have to dig into this more over the next week or two. This is exciting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:31 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Chicago, IL
So, I may be getting a tester's station soon... That could make things very interesting! :)

_________________
The Retro Review Project


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:48 am 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
I just stumbled on the patched 3DO FZ-10 bios, I wonder how hard it would be to swap out the bios?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:04 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Chicago, IL
cdoty wrote:
I just stumbled on the patched 3DO FZ-10 bios, I wonder how hard it would be to swap out the bios?


Probably not too difficult with an EPROM writer... If you have one. Which I don't. :)

I'd like to get a hold of that patched BIOS, though. It'd be nice to use with FreeDO.

_________________
The Retro Review Project


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:15 am 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
Did you noticed the printf's in the program are displayed in the debug.fz10.mes file on the C:\ drive? (The names probably changes based on the bios used, I'm guessing). Printf debugging, it doesn't get much better than that.

I'm using Freedo 1.9, a patched FZ-10 bios and, the cdrom.image you posted.

There's a lot of information in there, and a ram dump is saved as debug.fz10.ram.

Now if it was only possible to compile it on the PC... The sdk almost looks like a version of the ARM SDT. I'm not sure how you'd build the cd, unless you built it once on the mac, and use CompilFS to change the program file.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:30 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
This is prob a little late in the game but I believe I have some 3DO developer stuff somewhere. Never used it as I don't have a MAC. It might be something you guys already are using but if I can dig it out I could upload the contents somewhere.

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 3:37 am 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
3DO Experience wrote:
This is prob a little late in the game but I believe I have some 3DO developer stuff somewhere. Never used it as I don't have a MAC. It might be something you guys already are using but if I can dig it out I could upload the contents somewhere.


If you're talking about the portfolio and devkit stuff, they're already posted.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 4:40 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
I'll have to dig them up sometime, but my personal list that has more than the webpage has it listed as 3DO DevKit (US-MAC)

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:54 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
In honor of finally being able to sign 3DO discs this thread is hereby resurrected.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 2:56 pm 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
I'm in the process of trying to get the Arm ADS 1.2/SDT 2.11a/2.50 compilers working on Windows. The ADS will compile and link the Bounce example, but can't create an aif formatted file. The SDT versions take the same command line options, so they're probably close to the 3DO version, but they choke on the header files.

My next attempt is to use the cfront compiler flag, and see if that fixes the header file issue. If not, it might be possible to use the linker from the SDT with the compilers from the ADS.

Assuming all of that works, the only thing left is to figure out the exact function of the modbin file, from the 3DO dev kit. It only changes 6 bytes, so it shouldn't be too hard to figure out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:10 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:31 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Newark, DE - USA
This is so beyond my spectrum of understanding its insane, but I still understand enough to glean that you sir, have impressive talents in this field. Keep it up! Any more work on this subject brings us closer to some serious homebrews or other unique goodies!

_________________
'Did that guy just say he thinks rings are cool!?!?'

Most Desired Games:
-Out of This World (longbox) -Alone in the Dark (longbox) -Lucienne's Quest (longbox) -Killing Time (longbox) -Robinson's Requiem (longbox) -Strahl (longbox) -Dragon Lore (longbox) -Star Control II (longbox) -Sailor Moon (JPN) -Doctor Hauzer (JPN) -Montana Jones (JPN)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:32 am 
Offline
Bringer of game signing

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Houston, TX
MakillaGorilla wrote:
This is so beyond my spectrum of understanding its insane, but I still understand enough to glean that you sir, have impressive talents in this field. Keep it up! Any more work on this subject brings us closer to some serious homebrews or other unique goodies!


I released a demo that will boot on all 3DOs, and a toolkit to allow anyone to do the same. I need to put the files back online though:

http://3do.cdinteractive.co.uk/viewtopic.php?t=1761

_________________
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group