CD encryption works!

Homebrew and Mods (For Software & Hardware)
User avatar
3DÖ
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:30 am
Location: The Kingdom Of Sweden
Contact:

Post by 3DÖ » Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:45 pm

BryWI wrote: EDIT: I was able to get orbattak signed and booted. Latest toolkit worked for me. biggest problem is that double click in the compiler. wow, what an easy mistake to make.
What magic did you use to make it work? :)

I get the same error with 3DOEncrypt.exe no matter what I do.

User avatar
BryWI
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Contact:

Post by BryWI » Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:02 pm

Did you re-download the homebrew toolkit?
http://www.rastersoft.net/3DO/3DOHomebrewSigning.rar
a new one was posted last night. Also I just followed the instructions a couple posts back and it worked.

Thanks for your work on this Charles. This is big step taken for a 3do homebrew scene. I just wish I knew anything about programing. Id like to see a NES emulator on 3do.

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:01 am
Location: Rugby, UK

Post by Scarlettkitten » Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:26 pm

cdoty wrote:Ideally you need the mac software. But mnemonic's homebrew CD allowed you to run his Sonic demo, which was developed without the toolkit. There is source code to the toolkit routines, with a little work a PC toolkit could be created.

You would have to develop your own graphics format, or use some tool to convert into the 3DO formats.

Then again, Basilisk (http://basilisk.cebix.net/) runs well on a modern PC.

@cdoty

Thanks I'll have a rummage through the mac toolkit on my quadra and see what's what.
My 3DO collection
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 7c5737b1dc

3x US FZ1s 1xJAP FZ1 & 1x UK Goldstar with knackered cd drive.

User avatar
3DÖ
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:30 am
Location: The Kingdom Of Sweden
Contact:

Post by 3DÖ » Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:46 pm

Couldn't get it running on my 3DO but heres a clip I made using freedo with very crappy sound emulation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qgAnAXiScoE

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:47 pm

THE NEW VERSION WORKED!!!!

Image

Thank YOU!
This thread is now promoted to a sticky.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
3DÖ
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:30 am
Location: The Kingdom Of Sweden
Contact:

Post by 3DÖ » Thu Jul 01, 2010 2:07 am

3DO Experience wrote:THE NEW VERSION WORKED!!!!

Image

Thank YOU!
This thread is now promoted to a sticky.
What game is the picture of the mans face from? and I thought Decathlon was released decrypted by oldergames or did they sell it encrypted?.

I stumbled over this linux port of OperaFS that might be of some use to somebody http://www.stack.nl/~svdb/operafs/

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Thu Jul 01, 2010 2:46 am

The image with the man's face is a beta version of Killing Time. Decathlon was released, I just did this one from the original unsigned version so it doesn't have that bitch of a flash from the Game Guru on it.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:43 am

3DO Experience wrote:THE NEW VERSION WORKED!!!!
That's great. Did you have any problems with the new version?

User avatar
Mobius
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by Mobius » Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:35 am

Sweet, I disappear for a long time and come back to see this! Great news! I still have my Basilisk development environment set up, so I will look at cleaning that up and sharing it as a pre-built development environment.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Fri Jul 02, 2010 3:12 am

cdoty wrote:Did you have any problems with the new version?
Not at all, it worked like a charm! Please note you have been awarded a new rank title.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

oldskool
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Post by oldskool » Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:39 am

Cool stuff! That Orbatak game looks kind of fun actually.
Image

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:12 am

3DO Experience wrote:
cdoty wrote:Did you have any problems with the new version?
Not at all, it worked like a charm! Please note you have been awarded a new rank title.
That's awesome! :lol:

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:24 am

Mobius wrote:Sweet, I disappear for a long time and come back to see this! Great news! I still have my Basilisk development environment set up, so I will look at cleaning that up and sharing it as a pre-built development environment.
It can nearly be done on a PC. I'm using Arm Developer Suite 1.2, and with a few #pragmas removed, and a new makefile, I can get very close to the program file created by the developer toolkit. The issues I'm having is getting it to create relocatable sections. I get the same result as creating an image with the developer toolkit without the -r armlink option.

The nice thing about ADS 1.2 is that it can use the lib files directly, and only has to have some old #pragma's removed, and the '#ifdef CC_NORCROFT' overridden to always be true.

I tried Arm Developer Toolkit 2.11a and 2.5, which are fairly close to the 3do tools and use the same command line parameters. They have major problems with the headers though. If somehow the headers could work with 2.5, it may be able to build the executable without any problems.

User avatar
3DÖ
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:30 am
Location: The Kingdom Of Sweden
Contact:

Post by 3DÖ » Fri Jul 02, 2010 9:19 pm

Does the 3DO devkit contain any converter for 3DO fmvs?

There doesn't appear to have been any standard for fmvs on the 3DO back in the day and no converter for any of the formats has been made.

http://multimedia.cx/mmentry-2006-06-25.html
http://wiki.xentax.com/index.php/Wing_Commander_3_BUN
http://www.wiki.multimedia.cx/index.php?title=3DO

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Sat Jul 03, 2010 2:14 am

3DÖ wrote:Does the 3DO devkit contain any converter for 3DO fmvs?

There doesn't appear to have been any standard for fmvs on the 3DO back in the day and no converter for any of the formats has been made.

http://multimedia.cx/mmentry-2006-06-25.html
http://wiki.xentax.com/index.php/Wing_Commander_3_BUN
http://www.wiki.multimedia.cx/index.php?title=3DO
There's a movie convert and a movie edit app. It's not clear what format they take though.

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:01 am
Location: Rugby, UK

Post by Scarlettkitten » Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:57 pm

@Mobius

I'd definately be interested in a Basilisk development environment.
My 3DO collection
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 7c5737b1dc

3x US FZ1s 1xJAP FZ1 & 1x UK Goldstar with knackered cd drive.

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Sun Jul 04, 2010 4:47 am

Quagmire wrote:@Mobius

I'd definately be interested in a Basilisk development environment.
Yep, it's still useful for the artist tools and file converters.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:47 pm

The toolkit has been updated with a utility to convert a 320 x 240 uncompressed 24 bit BMP to a BannerScreen.

To use it type:

'MakeBanner Banner.bmp BannerScreen'

Once you've made the BannerScreen file, drop it in the PARCE_ folder, and rebuild and resign the iso.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:04 pm

Awesome! I was using a blank bannerscreen I pulled out of D.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Mobius
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by Mobius » Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:48 pm

I'm finally taking some time to play around with this. Has anyone here successfully signed a CD-ROM image built with the SDK's laytool? I suppose there must be something specific to the System files from the Homebrew pack that is required for signing to work, like it's expecting a certain checksum?

I ran 3DOEncrypt.exe on an ISO of the Bounce demo, built directly from the SDK. It ran without errors, but when I tried to load it in FreeDO, it didn't recognize it as a valid disc. I tried both with and without the genromtags flag. It does boot in FreeDO when using a hacked ROM to allow unsigned content, but it doesn't boot with a retail BIOS.

When I decompiled the (unsigned, SDK-built) ISO, copied in the System files from the Homebrew pack, and recompiled, the signing worked and FreeDO booted it with the retail BIOS.

In case it's relevant, 3DOEncrypt reported different sets of tags for the SDK-built image when running with and without genromtags:

Code: Select all

Signing original ISO (no genromtags):
=====================================
Finding the rom tag files...
Found launchme at sector 891
Found signatures at sector 8C5

Searching for rom tags...

Found boot_code tag:
        Starting sector 2
        Length 2000
Found os_code tag:
        Starting sector 6
        Length 1C340
Found misc_code tag:
        Starting sector 46
        Length B5C
Found bannerscreen tag:
        Starting sector E3
        Length 25858
Unknown tag 17:
        Starting sector 0
        Length 0
Found end tag

Found 6 tags



Signing original ISO (with genromtags):
=======================================
Finding the rom tag files...
Found launchme at sector 891
Found signatures at sector 8C5

Searching for rom tags...

Found boot_code tag:
        Starting sector 2
        Length 176C
Found os_code tag:
        Starting sector 6
        Length 1C340
Found release data tag:
        Encoded date ACBFF792
Found launchme tag:
        Starting sector 19FF
        Length 78
Found misc_code tag:
        Starting sector 46
        Length B5C
Found bannerscreen tag:
        Starting sector E3
        Length 25858
Found signatures tag:
        Starting sector 8C4
        Length 0
Found end tag

Found 8 tags
In the cases where the tag lengths don't match, the MD5s it later calculates are also different (not surprisingly).

When I have a chance, I will try pulling the System folder from the Homebrew pack into my Mac environment and lay out the CD with that version to see if that changes anything. For what it's worth, I'm using the 2p5 cdrommaster folder and laytool.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:38 pm

I, obviously, can sign discs but I have trouble with the cel maker.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Mobius
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by Mobius » Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:17 pm

Right, I'm able to sign them with cdoty's method of decompiling and recompiling the image with the System folder from the Homebrew pack. My question is whether anyone has been able to sign a raw CD image built with the SDK. It doesn't seem to work that way.

User avatar
Mobius
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by Mobius » Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:16 am

Mobius wrote:When I have a chance, I will try pulling the System folder from the Homebrew pack into my Mac environment and lay out the CD with that version to see if that changes anything. For what it's worth, I'm using the 2p5 cdrommaster folder and laytool.
This didn't work. Creating the CD with the System folder from the Homebrew pack resulted in an image that FreeDO didn't recognize. I'm not sure why -- maybe the files were somehow converted to a Windows format or otherwise corrupted in the Windows --> Basilisk transfer?

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:38 am

It seems like there were other signing issues with the normal libraries, or the Game Guru libraries might bypass some checks. I can't remember.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

User avatar
Mobius
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by Mobius » Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:00 am

Can you expand on that at all? If I'm understanding correctly, the System files included in the Homebrew pack match the ones in Game Guru? And there's apparently something special about them that makes signing easier than the normal System files? If that's the case, then I'm not sure why laying the CD out with a copy of those files doesn't work, barring some Windows corruption.

The SDK's laytool has some options for optimizing load times, so I'd eventually like to be able to use it.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Jul 23, 2011 11:19 pm

I went back and tried playing with BMPTo3DOCel and still can't get it to make one correctly.

Anyone else having this problem?
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
BryWI
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Contact:

Post by BryWI » Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:18 am

have you tried using different bit depths for the BMP file? Other than that there isn't much else you can change is there? Maybe the size? Would different programs change the header on a bmp file differently and the app is looking for something else? Im out of ideas. I'm sure you probably already tried all of this though.

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:10 am

3DO Experience wrote:I went back and tried playing with BMPTo3DOCel and still can't get it to make one correctly.

Anyone else having this problem?
To make a loading screen, you need to use makebanner, and use a 24 bit uncompressed bitmap.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:37 am

I'm not having a problem with that. I can't seem to get BMPTo3DOCel.exe to make proper cel files for some reason.

PS. Here is an example of what I get out. ASYLUM1.cel is the original file, ASYLUM.bmp is the bitmap of it I'm using and ASYLUM.cel is the file I get out.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

cdoty
Bringer of game signing
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 5:42 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Post by cdoty » Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:42 pm

3DO Experience wrote: PS. Here is an example of what I get out. ASYLUM1.cel is the original file, ASYLUM.bmp is the bitmap of it I'm using and ASYLUM.cel is the file I get out.
In the orginal cel, the data is compressed; whereas BMPTo3DOCel stores the data uncompressed.
Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

Post Reply