3DO ZONE Forums

The Only R.E.A.L. 3DO Experience.
It is currently Sun May 28, 2017 9:48 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 222 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:25 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:17 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Pasadena, CA
Wikipedia claims 312 games, but they count the same title released in different regions as 1 game.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_3DO_games

-Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:47 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:57 am
Posts: 281
jasonbar wrote:
Wikipedia claims 312 games, but they count the same title released in different regions as 1 game.

Hmmm, there are definitely a few spurious entries in the spreadsheet (which I've deleted when I've seen them), but a difference of 38 is pretty big. I'll compare at some point. Either way, the final GB total will vary wildly depending on how much you include; omit variants, compilations, demo discs, and games that are impenetrable for non-speakers of Japanese (and Korean), and you've got a much smaller fileset.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:30 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
The story of the IDE adapter going to Stone Age could be found here. It looked like it would never come to bear fruit but it looks like they worked out versions for multiple systems. Still nothing for sale. I was going to go for the IDE44 so the price jump isn't that high, it does suck for those who were going to get the IDE40.

My US/Japanese/Korean folders combined are 158 Gigs. Now this is just a guestimate, a few repeats and demo discs are included but it's just to give you an idea. A 200GB drive will provide all the space you need and more.

If these ever start selling my FZ-10 will probably be up for trade for a second FZ-1.

As for grimm he left us. I sent him an e-mail months ago as I was trying to get him a boxed controller but he never replied.

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:02 pm 
Offline
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 1819
Location: Fairfax, VA
jasonbar wrote:
Has this slipped in undetected, under our radar?

http://www.stoneagegamer.com/more.../3do/

I don't see tons of info on Stone Age Gamer's site. Anybody know the story?

And, regarding this product vs. the elusive IDE adapter, what's the size of a full 3DO ISO image set?

Thanks,
-Jason



SAG made a brief mention about it on another website (perhaps AtariAge, I don't recall). I believe they have to be wired up roughly the same way as the IDE mod? I'm not 100% sure.

My FZ-10 has issues (primarily the clip that hits the CD button from the drive door snapped off, so it's hard to get discs to spin), so it would be the perfect unit to try one of these mods with. However, the prices are out there.. I don't think I can justify it right now.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/austinmackert | http://www.twitch.tv/amackert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:22 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
I can justify it later.

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:49 am 
Offline
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 1819
Location: Fairfax, VA
3DO Experience wrote:
I can justify it later.


Yeah, maybe that's how I should have phrased it. :lol:

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/austinmackert | http://www.twitch.tv/amackert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:40 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
I looked at what I have, if you remove the samplers, demos, kiosk discs and repetitive games (same game diff disc or country) I get about 142.7 GB. So a 150BG drive will be fine. Which is good as the ebay auction said IDE up to 150GB.

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:22 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:17 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Pasadena, CA
3DO Experience wrote:
I looked at what I have, if you remove the samplers, demos, kiosk discs and repetitive games (same game diff disc or country) I get about 142.7 GB. So a 150BG drive will be fine. Which is good as the ebay auction said IDE up to 150GB.



Howdy-

To which eBay auction do you refer? If it's the one that I bought from Stone Age Gamer the other day, it says 120GB max, which SAG confirmed via e-mail. I do hope that's incorrect & 150GB is the correct number!

Also, the developer website seems to be down to be revamped, so I can't corroborate the size limit with him...

Thanks,
-Jason


Attachments:
3DO_IDE.JPG
3DO_IDE.JPG [ 88.27 KiB | Viewed 3269 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:55 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
Yes that's the one I meant. Sorry my memory slipped and that it was 120. Maybe dropping the majority of Japanese games will allow it to fit.

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:44 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:57 am
Posts: 281
3DO Experience wrote:
Yes that's the one I meant. Sorry my memory slipped and that it was 120. Maybe dropping the majority of Japanese games will allow it to fit.


Well, that, or you could dump the likes of Woody Woodpecker and so forth. That'd probably free up enough to fit all the, er, "game-games".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:07 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
FZ-10's and Goldstar units are NOW AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE !

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IDE adaptor
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:02 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:17 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Pasadena, CA
Raise your hand if your 3DO has both the HDD IDE mod & the RGB mod!

My hand is raised!

I don't mind if I never again need to solder solid core 30AWG wire to teensy weensy solder pads for the rest of my life...won't complain...

8)

-Jason


Attachments:
3.JPG
3.JPG [ 80.66 KiB | Viewed 2980 times ]
2.JPG
2.JPG [ 88.49 KiB | Viewed 2980 times ]
1.JPG
1.JPG [ 132.28 KiB | Viewed 2980 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 222 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group