IDE adaptor

Homebrew and Mods (For Software & Hardware)
User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:09 am

"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

Jones
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jones » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:19 am

Anyone bought that piece of hardware yet?
Or is at least pondering to buy it?

The language shouldn't be a problem, I think
Mnemonic should handle orders in English language.

Oh, and anyone complained about the price?
Come on guys, 90 Euros for a piece of hardware
that looks so professional even though it wasn't
produced in industrial mass production is no reason
to complain.
When I remember the prices for Amiga hardware back then
(SCSI controller for 200 Euros)...

When this IDE controller won't be produced anymore
in the future, I bet the prices on eBay for it will rise
like hell. And then people gonna buy it (because it's
a rare collectors item then). ;)

User avatar
Silentman
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 9:04 am
Location: Russian Federation, Perm
Contact:

Post by Silentman » Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:23 pm

I bought it last year and want to buy HDD software soon. Now I am looking for US FZ-10 with fault drive to end my 3DO mod. I have working FZ-10, but don't want to use it while it works.

User avatar
bitrate
3DO DEMI-GOD
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:35 am

Post by bitrate » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:08 am

Jones wrote:Anyone bought that piece of hardware yet?
Or is at least pondering to buy it?

I think that I will buy it. I need to get in contact with mnemonic.

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Wed Feb 15, 2012 9:40 am

bitrate, you can ask him by e-mail (at the bottom of the page) or via pm on 3doplanet forum.

As for me, I've ordered one. :D

User avatar
bitrate
3DO DEMI-GOD
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:35 am

Post by bitrate » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:26 pm

Versus wrote:bitrate, you can ask him by e-mail (at the bottom of the page) or via pm on 3doplanet forum.


Thank you Versus. I will probably try emailing him in the next week or so.

Anyone else in the States buying one?

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:53 am

I will, not right this moment but within a few months. I'm not really sure I understand the differences due to poor translation software.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Fri Feb 17, 2012 7:16 am

3DO Experience, you are risking to not buy it. Mnemo told that will prepare the second part of adapters later ONLY IF he will have some orders. If the quantity of them is a very few, he won't make an other shipments.
PS. If you have any problems with translating from russian, just ask me to translate. :wink:

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4683
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Fri Feb 17, 2012 12:59 pm

Right, I want one.

To avoid confusion, does anyone know the following.

1. How long it will take to make and ship.
2. How much is it?
3. Will I be charged extra for the loader disk?
4. How do I pay?

Thanks :)

3DOkid.

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:24 pm

3DOKid, I think you must see that:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJr_Y6QrdGw
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Di4D1Pk404c
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaG2lVSTW7s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AUS3T4GdR2M
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWqgEH5THgY
1. It depends when Mnemo will start making the second part of shipment. I think that the first part is over. I ordered my adapter in January and still not recieve it. Mnemo told that it will be ready in March.
2. http://3do-renovation.ru/3DO_IDE_adapter.htm
It costs near 120$ (simple IDE) and about 190$ IDE44 (notebook type HDD)
3. No extra discs requied.
4. You must write pm or e-mail Mnemo. Mnemo's mail is on the link I showed above. Also you can write him pm via 3doplanet forum. http://forum.3doplanet.ru/viewforum.php?f=58
As I know, Mnemo accepts WebMoney and Contact payment system.

User avatar
sneth
Nibbler
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: STL
Contact:

Post by sneth » Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:25 pm

maybe a group order from this forum would entice a second batch?

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:23 pm

That's it! Mnemo told that may be another shipment if he will have sufficient orders. Quote is near:
А если желающих будет больше?
Тогда ещё к маю партию сделаю.
He says that another shipment may avalable in May.

User avatar
sneth
Nibbler
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 5:31 pm
Location: STL
Contact:

Post by sneth » Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:04 am

I don t know a word of slovic, but I'm in for 1 if we want to do bulk.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:13 pm

1. If I wanted to have a hardrive is the only hardware I need to buy the 3DO IDE adapter(IDE44) c поддержкой CD/DVD/HDD

2. How straight forward is the install? Soldering? crazy wiring? ect.

3. I take it there is additional software I need to put on the drive (like the loader) where do I get it?

4. Can I put my images into folders for better organization?

5. How well does it handle multidisc games? (Like in "D" where you have to swap discs in the middle and there's no save game data.)

6. Thanks.


PS. I edited the post as I figured out the answer to one of my questions.
If some of you want to do a bulk US order I'm toatally in!
If you want the drive to fit in the 3DO you have to get the IDE44 version! (I tested, regular is too big)
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1836
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:20 pm

I'd like to get one, but it will be a little while before I can afford one outright.

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:10 pm

1. For IDE44 is enough. If you want to use an IDE 3DO IDE adapter c поддержкой CD/DVD/HDD 3800 р (regular IDE HDD 3.5") you'll need a external power source! This is hard question. I'll describe this later.
2. Instruction is included. You must solder some wires. I dont know how many. May be about 10-20.
3. The firmware is inside the device. The only need is HDD. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaG2lVSTW7s You can see the process of firmware upgrade.
4. As I know, all images must located in GAMES folder.
5. As the original console. To insert disc 2 just reset and select another ISO.

Note that you can buy simple 3do ide, but be able to use a notebook type HDD through simple adapter.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:07 am

I saw the update video before. I didn't know if I had to put it on the hard drive first. Hopefully he'll make an upgrade to dump the NVRAM to the HDD. Trading save game files would be awesome!

The last two vex me a little.

4. I plan on putting all my archived images (300+ games) on this thing, I'll cross my fingers that it lets me do sub-directories. Not that it would keep me from buying one.
5. That is a problem, for games like "D" you don't reset you open the lid (I hope that's what you meant) while the game stays in RAM waiting to read the second disc. I guess it's not a huge deal as I'll still have three other consoles that will have CD drives in them.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
FrumpleOrz
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:03 am
Location: Fargo, ND

Post by FrumpleOrz » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:11 am

5. That is a problem, for games like "D" you don't reset you open the lid (I hope that's what you meant) while the game stays in RAM waiting to read the second disc. I guess it's not a huge deal as I'll still have three other consoles that will have CD drives in them.
I would imagine D would work somewhat similar to Psychic Detective. Whenever I pop out a disc to switch it, it restarts the system (in my Goldstar, at least) and checks for a little save file. I found out that if I pop out the Psychic Detective disc, turn off the system, play an entirely different game, and then put the next Psychic Detective disc in, it still recognizes that there is a save on there and knows where to continue.

Does anyone know definitively if D works like that?

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:39 am

3DO Experience wrote:Hopefully he'll make an upgrade to dump the NVRAM to the HDD.
Mnemo told that it is possible. When? How? Only he knows...

5. I think the D is working like FrumpleOrz said about Psychic Detective.

Jones
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jones » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:47 am

If so, the internal Bus, where the CD-drive used to be connected,
also supports writing and not only reading - what would be very
cool, but also a bit surprising, since it wasn't designed to connect any harddiscs.
Obviously, the 3DO's hardware had upgradewise more potential than
thought.

BTW: It would be really great, if 3DOKid would do a review of this
piece of hardware on his good ol' fashioned 3DO-blog. What do you
think, Mr. Admin? ;)

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:31 pm

Mnemo told that we can place iso's into subfolders! :D

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:31 am

YAY!
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Mon Apr 09, 2012 10:06 am

Some adapters already found its owners. :D
http://forum.3doplanet.ru/viewtopic.php ... 6&start=90

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:42 am

I, uh, never e-mailed him... is it too late to order???
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

Versus
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:52 am
Location: Russia, Sochi

Post by Versus » Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:28 am

If will be about 10 orders, I think he will make another shipment. You can ask him for that. As for me, when I'll receive my adapter, I'll make a review.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:17 am

OK peoples! Who wants to put in an order with me? I'm one so we'll need just 9 more. I'll have to e-mail him still.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Thunder
Nibbler
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:57 am

Post by Thunder » Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:57 am

What is it?

Anyway you could just order all 10 and resell them later on ebay.
I break for bannings.

User avatar
JohnnyDude
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am

Post by JohnnyDude » Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:28 pm

I don't quite follow the details of this mod. I'm trying to figure out how much it would cost me. Could someone help me verify my thinking?

I have two FZ-1's, and the optical drive on one is dead, so the broken unit is the obvious pick. I would just need to pay for the controller as well as a hard drive. I would also need to do some soldering? Google translate is failing me on the details!

Is that right? :s

Well, if I can mod my FZ-1, I think I would be interested in joining in on the bulk US order.

User avatar
Hound
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:44 am
Location: Fort Lauderdale

Post by Hound » Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:10 am

Well, count me in for one. I guess that makes 3 now?

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:08 am

Well 2 with a possible third. Thunder, if you weren't a figure of the forums imagination I would slap you soooo hard!
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

Post Reply