If you need a MEMORY MANAGER...

Got a problem with your 3DO? Ask!
User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

If you need a MEMORY MANAGER...

Post by 3DO Experience » Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:42 pm

You may already have a memory manager! These discs have them built in:

Panasonic Sampler (3DO Interactive Sampler CD # 1)
3DO Interactive Sampler CD # 2
3DO Interactive Sampler CD # 3
3DO Interactive Sampler CD # 4
3DO Game Guru

Some games have them built in, HELL has one but you can't get to it unless the memory is too full.
There is also the 3DO Storage Manager CD v2.1 for the FZ-EM256 Memory Unit. So if you have the Memory Unit you'll need that CD, the Game Guru will not work!

Ok so you checked the list and still need a disc? Or you have the FZ-EM256 Memory Unit but nothing to use that will turn it into a wonderful peice of hardware from a nice nicnac in your collection?
Well here's the solution: just download the image below and open it in WinRAR. No joke! Do it and you're memory problems will be solved.

Image


Please note that if you use this on a Japanese model I've found that the memory manager CD will display all in Japanese text.

Here is the Help screen in English:
Image
Last edited by 3DO Experience on Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:27 am, edited 3 times in total.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:53 pm

Nice! :) This will be helpful, especially for newer collectors.
Last edited by Trev on Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BryWI
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Contact:

Post by BryWI » Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:55 pm

Your jpg file embeding amuses me. How is this done?

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:36 pm

BryWI wrote:Your jpg file embeding amuses me. How is this done?
Magic!
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

DMJC
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 6:26 am
Contact:

Post by DMJC » Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:53 pm

has anyone ever cracked open one of those memory upgrade modules and taken a look at what was inside?

User avatar
bitrate
3DO DEMI-GOD
Posts: 944
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:35 am

Post by bitrate » Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:30 pm

DMJC wrote:has anyone ever cracked open one of those memory upgrade modules and taken a look at what was inside?

Sure. Here is the thread: LINK

oldskool
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Post by oldskool » Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:27 am

Wing Commander III has a built in memory manager if I recall correctly. And you can access it any time as well which is nice. The thing that is not too nice about it is that it doesn't explain what the file are, so you sort of have to guess with the file name, which does not always help.
Image

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:31 pm

Thought I would share this with you boys.
Image
I wanted to do this as a dual release but I never got around to making the other cover. Download this at http://drop.io/3do_covers.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:41 am

Cool. 8)
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:01 pm

I just uploaded the image of the Help screen in the memory manager for those using it on a Japanese 3DO. AND I added a new version of the cover replacing the last image with the Help screen for easy reference.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:01 am
Location: Rugby, UK

Post by Scarlettkitten » Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:18 am

I love the Mem manager CD cover, nery nice 8)
My 3DO collection
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 7c5737b1dc

3x US FZ1s 1xJAP FZ1 & 1x UK Goldstar with knackered cd drive.

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Post by T2KFreeker » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:50 am

Am I missing something here? I downloaded the image and tried to open it in winrar and it says it's in the wrong format or damaged. I could use a Memory Manager too . . . :(
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:44 am

Try opening WinRAR and go to the folder you saved it to and then open it in the browser.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Post by T2KFreeker » Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:24 am

I got it. Then again, the 3DO I got came with the original Demonstration CD, so I forgot it actually has the Memory Manager on it. DUH!!! :roll: I guess I have this for a back up.
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:57 am

Ha, I have that disc too but could never remember where is was on the disc! LOL
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Post by T2KFreeker » Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:10 am

3DO Experience wrote:Ha, I have that disc too but could never remember where is was on the disc! LOL
Go to the section of the disc that shows the 3DO and you can rotate the 3DO around to see all of it's sides. The bottom view has the 3DO Memory Manager. Click on that and boom, you got the memory manager displayed! :wink:
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:14 am

Well it's been burned into my memory now from all the hours wasted trying to find it. LOL
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Post by T2KFreeker » Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:18 pm

3DO Experience wrote:Well it's been burned into my memory now from all the hours wasted trying to find it. LOL
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Yeah, you would have figured they would have made it a bit easier, yes?
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
Edi (FZ2D)
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 8:08 pm
Location: São Paulo/Brazil
Contact:

Re: If you need a MEMORY MANAGER...

Post by Edi (FZ2D) » Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:12 pm

I would love to get the FZ-EM256 Memory Unit. This iten is somewhat rare and expensive, but I would pay the price without any remorse. Unfortunately the 3DO's internal memory is a bit limited. :cry:

What is Game Guru 3DO 3DO discs and Storage Manager? I understand that version 2.1 is to be utilizade with FZ-EM256 Memory Unit, but the others?
Image

User avatar
Gir Draxa
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:34 pm
Location: USA (occasionally Thailand)
Contact:

Post by Gir Draxa » Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:58 pm

T2KFreeker wrote:
3DO Experience wrote:Ha, I have that disc too but could never remember where is was on the disc! LOL
Go to the section of the disc that shows the 3DO and you can rotate the 3DO around to see all of it's sides. The bottom view has the 3DO Memory Manager. Click on that and boom, you got the memory manager displayed! :wink:
Just a little FYI, there are two versions of that disc. 1 has the memory manager, and one doesn't. It was added to the later demos after errors with The Horde, Panzer General and Star Control II were ruining peoples NVRAM. I'll look, but I believe the newer discs' serial number ends with B, and the original ends with A.

Also, to correct the Horde save game error, if you have the original release disc, start up the demo of the Horde on the "Sample This!" and let it save. Then continue on with your regular game. This was their work around for the problem.

Drax
CEO of The (in search of a home) CD-i & 3DO Collectives

Just slightly behind at being ahead of our time!

DiscaL
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 6:17 pm
Location: Manama, Bahrain
Contact:

Download the image?

Post by DiscaL » Tue May 10, 2011 6:32 pm

There's prolly something wrong with the link...I would love to be able to download the memory manager app to start playing Horde on my Goldstar 3do ASAP :(

User avatar
Lemmi
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1189
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:10 pm
Location: Mich

Post by Lemmi » Wed May 11, 2011 12:21 am

here is my 3do manager for download

3DO Manager

just click on the paper icon to download
Ex-3DO collector extraordinaire , but i still have my collection
Villagephotos is dead, need to find my old pics and find another host

User avatar
knightintosh
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 12:16 am
Location: Whitehead, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Post by knightintosh » Sat May 28, 2011 12:08 am

A-ha! I was wondering there since I got the FZ-1 and FZ-10 the other day. I always remember the FZ-10's memory manager and was wondering why the FZ-1 (which I've never owned before) didn't have one. I'm assuming one came with it in its original box? Or rather that Sample CD maybe? I'm trying to get my hands on that very disc so hopefully with get the manager soon.

TEKTORO
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:43 am
Location: BeatMachineHeaven

Post by TEKTORO » Fri May 11, 2012 12:59 am

Hey guys Need for Speed and Luciennes Quest have memory managers only when your memory is full.If your memory is full when loading up these games you will get access to all files and delete what you dont want anymore.

Im guessing theres probably many more games like this, so Im not really sure if my post is pointless?

But good tid bits anyways. :wink:
Here to stay.. ;)

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Fri May 11, 2012 2:44 am

Not really pointless. HELL also has that option if the memory gets too full.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
captam41
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 8:23 pm

FZ-EM256

Post by captam41 » Sat May 18, 2013 3:08 am

Many thanks for providing the links to downloading version 2.1 and the Storage Manager images. My only follow up is, what sort of disc can I copy that info. to from my PC, that will also play in my 3DO?

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun May 19, 2013 4:56 am

Just burn the iso to a normal CD-R with any burning software you choose. When it's done put it in you 3DO. You won't see any data on the disc when it is in your PC but the 3DO can see it.

User avatar
captam41
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 8:23 pm

Tech Support

Post by captam41 » Sun May 19, 2013 4:20 pm

CD-R perfect! Your help with this is very much appreciated. Sorry if I pissed anyone off, but it's incredibly frustrating when you pay good money for a piece of equipment like that and you can't use it. Many thanks...

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun May 19, 2013 7:05 pm

I went through the same thing.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Re: If you need a MEMORY MANAGER...

Post by 3DO Experience » Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:58 pm

Did you:
3DO Experience wrote:just download the image below and open it in WinRAR.
There is an iso file inside.

If for some reason you still have problems Image me.

Post Reply