Playing A Japanese FZ-1 in the US?

Got a problem with your 3DO? Ask!
Post Reply
jordand
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:14 pm

Playing A Japanese FZ-1 in the US?

Post by jordand » Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:16 pm

hello, is there any problem with running a japanese fz-1 3do hooked up to a us power plug?

i read that the voltage in japan is slightly lower than in the US.

could this cause any issues, or is it safe.

also are there any benefits to getting the japanese FZ-1, because i just got one :)
i;ve never do anything wroing

User avatar
Martin III
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1003
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:32 am
Location: United States of America

Post by Martin III » Sun Jul 22, 2012 3:45 pm

I think the only issues with voltage are if you're operating a PAL device in a non-PAL region or vice versa. However, I'm not an expert on such matters, so don't push in that plug until someone who really knows what they're talking about speaks up!

As for benefits... Well, the 3DO has no region lockout. Some Japanese games will not work properly on a North American 3DO because they include characters not supported by the system, but these games tend to be ones which are unplayable without knowledge of Japanese anyway. There are exceptions, but I can't say I know them off the top of my head. Of course, everything changes if you happen to know Japanese!

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:31 pm

You can find your answer in the thread Jap FZ-1 power supply?.

Also using the Image Search function can save a lot of time.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

jordand
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:14 pm

Post by jordand » Sun Jul 22, 2012 8:39 pm

im glad i got responses so quick and that its lively here.

i saw that post, but i was just confused because that dude was in scotland, so i was hoping the need for the step down transformer was just related to people in europe(im in US).

i wasnt sure if it was or wasnt based on that thread, or i dont want to be, because im afraid it says i should get one!?
i;ve never do anything wroing

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Sun Jul 22, 2012 11:20 pm

The voltage difference really shouldnt matter since it would be within tollerances anyway..

jordand
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:14 pm

Post by jordand » Sun Jul 22, 2012 11:48 pm

thats good to know.

i will look forward to contributing here with game reviews and more!
i;ve never do anything wroing

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Wed Jul 25, 2012 3:50 am

I would suggest getting a transformer. I've personally cooked a Famicom and watched an acquaintance zap an import 360 the second day he had it.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

Post Reply