Mount a 3DO disk in Linux

Got a problem with your 3DO? Ask!
Post Reply
User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Mount a 3DO disk in Linux

Post by 3DOKid » Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:36 pm

Maybe I'm stupid, but be damned if I can figure out.

The real question is of cause, how do I make an 3DO disc ISO using linux?

All and any help appreciated.

3DOkid.

User avatar
goldenband
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:57 am

Re: Mount a 3DO disk in Linux

Post by goldenband » Sat Oct 24, 2015 4:55 pm

Are you using/trying OperaFS?

http://www.stack.nl/~svdb/operafs/

I haven't tried it myself, but as far as I know it's the way to mount the 3DO filesystem on Linux. What I don't know is whether it handles the decryption too.

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Mount a 3DO disk in Linux

Post by 3DOKid » Sat Oct 24, 2015 5:09 pm

Brilliant, thank you.

:)

I will try right now :)

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Mount a 3DO disk in Linux

Post by 3DOKid » Sat Oct 24, 2015 5:40 pm

I'm hoping you can help a bit more.

My linux skills don't extend to compiling kernel modules.

I can type in 'make' and 'insomod' but that is about my limit.

It's throwing up target errors and all sorts. Any hints would be greatly received.

User avatar
goldenband
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:57 am

Re: Mount a 3DO disk in Linux

Post by goldenband » Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:13 pm

Unfortunately I've reached the limits of my competence, especially since I don't currently own a Linux machine. :( But let's not let this effort die, especially since I'm hoping you're planning to go digging in some Japanese or Korean ISOs, yes yes? :D So can someone else help?

Post Reply