3DO ZONE Forums

The Only R.E.A.L. 3DO Experience.
It is currently Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:54 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:53 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:45 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Las Vegas
Why emulate?

Don't get me wrong, I am an emulator freak. But the nice thing about the 3DO is you can play burns on it very easily, so why emulate? Does not everyone on this forum have a 3DO console to enjoy? If not, I can understand that. But if you do have a 3DO then what's the point? Just burn and play in your console right? Or are many like me, and like to play retro games on the go on their laptop?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:47 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 4682
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Screenshots. Put simply in my case ;)

_________________
Forum: http://cdinteractive.co.uk/3do/forum/
Tumblr: http://3dokid.tumblr.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:47 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
And for testing a game to see if you wanna put down money for the cart... in 3DO's case the CD.

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:58 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 6:31 am
Posts: 78
i do it so i don't wear out my console , they aren't going to be making any new ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:31 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 1329
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
In my case, the laser on my 3do no longer likes CDRs. So I mostly emulate 3do. Also my older consoles, like my nes, I let my sister have. I can emualte that and get the same enjoyment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:05 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:45 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Las Vegas
All valid excuses.. errr I mean reasons. :lol:

I didn't know that the 3DO could get finicky with the burned discs. Maybe I should not use them much.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:16 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:13 am
Posts: 3
I've never had a problem with burned discs on my JP FZ10. But the reason that I typically use an emulator over the console is because for some games I want to be able to back up my save data. Granted there are only a few games like that, but there are a couple RPGs and I love the port of Wolfenstein :D

It'd be nice if someday someone releases some hardware that lets people back up their memory, but until then I emulate any game I care about keeping the saves for :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:21 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:45 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Las Vegas
If I recall correctly, you can back up your game saves with the Game Guru CD. But you have to manually write down a bunch of code to do so.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:33 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE MOD
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 4033
Location: States
I'm with you oldskool (one of the few it seems, but I'm used to minority status :wink: )

Oh, btw ... w/the exception of the Goldstar unit, burned discs always run like a dream for me ... FZ1 is built like a tank!

_________________
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:46 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:13 am
Posts: 3
oldskool wrote:
If I recall correctly, you can back up your game saves with the Game Guru CD. But you have to manually write down a bunch of code to do so.


Heh, I suppose I could hand write down all the hex code for the save, true :) Seems like that would take quite a while though :P

Hopefully now that the system's encryption is cracked, someone could develop software that used one of the ports for something useful. Like, take the controller and turn it into a serial port or something, I dunno.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:50 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:13 am
Posts: 3
Trev wrote:
I'm with you oldskool (one of the few it seems, but I'm used to minority status :wink: )

Oh, btw ... w/the exception of the Goldstar unit, burned discs always run like a dream for me ... FZ1 is built like a tank!


Oh I like running the games on the original system too. It's really much more fun than using the windows only, still sort of under development but kind of dead, never going open source, only emulator out there :)

And once people get to translating Dr Hauzer or Grand Chef RPG, I'm sure I'll have even more reasons to play on the original system. It's just a shame that I can't back up saves, since I don't want to lose dozens of hours on an RPG (unsure how long it really takes for Luciennes quest to get a perfect file but its probably a while).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:13 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:07 pm
Posts: 47
oldskool wrote:
I didn't know that the 3DO could get finicky with the burned discs. Maybe I should not use them much.


My FZ-1 has always been pretty marginal with them. Certain brands work OK, others not at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:45 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 1329
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
I've been running a gamecube emulator lately on my new laptop. It runs quite nice actually since the machine is a beast. I run it to the tv via hdmi and It looks better than the original gamecube. I was also doing the same with a ps2 emulator. What stinks about the gamecube discs though is I have to find images for the discs I already own because I have no way of dumping the discs. :( But I already found the ones I really wanted so i guess it's all good. Just annoying that I have to find them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:55 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:40 pm
Posts: 5
I find its not the quality of discs, though I only use Sony which are notoriously known for being cheap trash, but rather the speed at which they are burned. Most games for 3do won't work burned faster than 4x I find. I prefer 2x or 4x. Every game I've ever burned at this speed, which is a lot, has always worked!

Unfortunately, the discs wore out and now I have to burn them again as I play :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 9:50 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:51 am
Posts: 66
Location: Oh, somewhere...
No faster than 4x? Really? Hm. I believe my burned copies were burned at at least 6x speed, and they actually work almost perfectly on my GoldStar 3DO.

_________________
"C'mon, let's go give somebody a bad day!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:45 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:45 pm
Posts: 3
I have issues with FMV playback (gets very jerky) on my FZ-1 when I burn CDs faster than 4 or 8x.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:43 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 1189
Location: Mich
i can hardly emulate atari 2600 games on my computer, there is no way 3do would even come close to working
plus i hate playing games on my computer now after wasting 2 years playing everquest

only flash/swf games for me on this POS

_________________
Ex-3DO collector extraordinaire , but i still have my collection
Villagephotos is dead, need to find my old pics and find another host


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:22 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 213
Location: USA
well I can't speak for everyone but to be honest I used to be in the original hardware only camp for ever until I got a Wii specifically for the virtual console and then I got hooked on having all my old classic games in one place so I switched to emulating and never looked back. I find for me it is just about convenience really, instead of having cables and consoles and carts and discs lying around everywhere I can have everything on one hard drive in one folder and just scroll down to the game I want double click and get going.



What I really want is to build the ultimate classic gaming machine that can run all my favorite old consoles and arcade games, build it into an arcade cabinet with Arcade Pads and Light Guns hooked up via USB and have the ultimate in home video arcade cabinet. I am about maybe 30 percent complete towards my goal I have the machine the monitor and the software I just need the cabinet and controllers and to assemble it all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:47 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE MOD
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 4033
Location: States
The Wii's virtual console is easy to get addicted to. I really don't want to like it. I love original hardware, software, boxes, manuals, etc... But it is just so darn easy on the Wii! I've been pretty good for the most part, limiting my downloads to just a handful. Latley though, I'm starting to weaken.

Between it and ScummVM ... :twisted:

_________________
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:08 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 213
Location: USA
I have mixed feelings towards VC, honestly and I know people often hate me for saying this but honestly I only bought a Wii just for VC and after I started emulating on my PC I sold the thing and never looked back. I wanted to like it I tried to like it I stood in line in the cold all night at Kmart waiting in line to get one because of the hype and in the end I have basically stopped gaming because of it. All I do now is revert to my tried and true classics and have given up all hope for video games going forward.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:34 am 
Offline
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 1819
Location: Fairfax, VA
Trev wrote:
Latley though, I'm starting to weaken.


haha, me too man.. Although that happened two and three years ago. I think I am up to 70+ VC titles.. ugh. Since they are non-transferrable and tied to the system, I am starting to wonder if I can sell my Wii with all of those games for a lot of money... :?:

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/austinmackert | http://www.twitch.tv/amackert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:40 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 213
Location: USA
that is what I did, I had I think like 75 games when I sold my console and I got a lot of money for it that day.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:00 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE MOD
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 4033
Location: States
Austin wrote:
Trev wrote:
Latley though, I'm starting to weaken.


haha, me too man.. Although that happened two and three years ago. I think I am up to 70+ VC titles.. ugh. Since they are non-transferrable and tied to the system, I am starting to wonder if I can sell my Wii with all of those games for a lot of money... :?:


Can't they just be loaded onto an sd card?

_________________
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:31 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 213
Location: USA
you can store them on an SD card and play them back now last I heard, but they are tied to the console they are purchased on. If you sell the Wii the only way to keep your VC games is to call Nintendo and disconnect the account tied to the system and then connect that account to the next console you buy, it was such a pain in the ass. I suppose you could copy them to the SD Card and maybe run them on a PC using a Wii emulator but I never thought to try that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:36 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE MOD
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 4033
Location: States
I never knew that. :?

_________________
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:29 am 
Offline
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 1819
Location: Fairfax, VA
Yeah, you can store them on your SD card, but you can't take said SD card and access the games on another console. Bummer, eh? :?

Also, I hear Nintendo won't transfer the games for you the majority of the time.. Unless something crazy happens, like your house burns down, they are hard-asses about it. I don't get it, really...

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/austinmackert | http://www.twitch.tv/amackert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:32 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 213
Location: USA
No it isn't that the way it works is you HAVE to link your Wii to a Nintendo.com account, as long as you do that they will transfer but most people are too lazy to take the extra step and register with Nintendo online. That was what they told me anyways. I did go through the steps of linking my accounts but I sold the console with the games still preloaded on it. I could have been an jerk and unlinked my account and reclaimed my games but I am done with Nintendo so no reason to hassle with that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:54 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE MOD
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 4033
Location: States
Ahhh, good to know. I'm in club Nintendo and register every game I can.

_________________
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:03 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:07 am
Posts: 153
Thats why you just run the homebrew emulators, so much easier. :twisted:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:14 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 1329
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Calavera wrote:
Thats why you just run the homebrew emulators, so much easier. :twisted:


I agree :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group