3DO ZONE Forums

The Only R.E.A.L. 3DO Experience.
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:05 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FourFreeO underway!
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:41 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am
Posts: 261
I couldn't help but notice that parts of FreeDO went open source. Last weekend I downloaded what was uploaded to see if it could function on its own.

It's been about a week, and I've been able to compile the FreeDO core and interface with it minimally. I have fed it a ROM to see what happens, and I finally I have my first visible progress!

Image

I hereby name it: FourFreeO, a name combining both FourDO and FreeDO. It really doesn't use any code from my high-level emulation attempt (FourDO). I gave up with the high-level emulation approach; disassembling and reverse engineering the 3DO OS was clearly an overwhelming workload.

Anyway, I'll keep working on it. I'm using C# this time and crossing my fingers that it performs well enough. Long live 3DO!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 1:50 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE MOD
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 4033
Location: States
Hmmm ... FourFreeO sounds a bit awkward imo. I like plain 4DO better. :wink:

Congrats on your progress, and best wishes. :)

_________________
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:08 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am
Posts: 261
Hm, well yeah. FreeFourO is mighty goofy. I suppose I'll stick with FourDO / 4DO.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:32 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 4682
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Well, the 4D suggests the fourth dimension: Time. So why don't you call it the flux capacitor and be done with it? ;)

_________________
Forum: http://cdinteractive.co.uk/3do/forum/
Tumblr: http://3dokid.tumblr.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:09 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Posts: 180
Location: Germany
Doc!!!!!
;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:23 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Posts: 4682
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Jones wrote:
Doc!!!!!
;)


Great Scott!!!!

_________________
Forum: http://cdinteractive.co.uk/3do/forum/
Tumblr: http://3dokid.tumblr.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 2:32 am 
Offline
3DO ZONE MOD
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 4033
Location: States
This is heavy!

_________________
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:21 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am
Posts: 261
Breakthrough! Since that last screenshot, I am now:
* Reading the video buffer accurately
* Able to load BIOS
* Able to load a game

BIOS worked great from the get-go. Figuring out how to load a game took a while. Some examples:
* I had to disassemble FreeDO to find the right value to pass to the FreeDO interface for GetDiscSize. It's too bad they didn't upload their UI code. What a chore!
* For some mysterious reason, I had to disable compiler optimizations on a few functions in the FreeDO core, or it would freeze up. Probably some bad pointer arithmetic I'll have to look into later.
* I also had to make my first genuine bug fix to the FreeDO source code: an uninitialized variable. I'm somewhat confused as to how this got uploaded, since I hit it very early on.

Anyway, finally, after some work and very late nights:

Image

Yep, the game starts up. The introduction video does too; and so does the main menu, and the in-game demo the game plays through. That is a pretty significant test of the system. The source code they uploaded seems to be pretty much complete as far as emulation of the system. I am quite happy about this.

I'm going to move on to audio next. That may require me to pick a better multimedia framework (currently the display is using winforms and simple blits). I believe I'll go with either OGL or SDL if I have to. Oh, also, I will work on incorporating a flux capacitor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:29 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
This is getting really cool! Keep up the great work!!

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:06 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am
Posts: 261
Thanks for the enthusiasm!

Audio was pretty easy to hook up. I got that going tonight.

I noticed some garble-ing in the audio at times (happened once on the killing time main menu). I believe that problem is in the core code. Nuts. Well, I'll get to that later, I suppose.

I'll move onto controls next.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:49 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:01 am
Posts: 263
Location: Rugby, UK
That's fantastic work 8)

_________________
My 3DO collection
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 7c5737b1dc

3x US FZ1s 1xJAP FZ1 & 1x UK Goldstar with knackered cd drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 10:07 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Posts: 180
Location: Germany
Very cool! :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:37 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:22 pm
Posts: 351
I love seeing emulation of older game machines that time has nearly forgotten... A labor of love LOL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 2:25 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:38 pm
Posts: 24
Great effort!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:17 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am
Posts: 261
Image

Working on controls seemed tedious when I had to sit through boot and intros to test them.

So I've got some basic features in. It's easier for me to work on things with that sweet option to automatically load the last save state. Why don't more emulators do that?

Unfortunately, framerate dips too low sometimes (as I indicated) on intensive areas of the game. It makes the audio very annoying. That'll have to be my next priority after adding controls.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:16 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Posts: 180
Location: Germany
MacOS port, please...! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:34 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:07 am
Posts: 153
Playing the games at a higher resolution would be a nice feature. I think PSX games look much better when played through an emulator.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group