3DO ZONE Forums

The Only R.E.A.L. 3DO Experience.
It is currently Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:35 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 4DO slower than FreeDO?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 11:21 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:02 pm
Posts: 76
Location: United Kingdom
Anyone else getting this problem? I'm only trying to run the FZ-10 BIOS and am getting poor performance. It's running 60fps about 80-90% time, but pauses for a second, continues at 60fps, pauses, continues etc etc.

Dual-core 64bit CPU @2GHz, 2GB RAM, Win7 (64bit). Runs FreeDO OK (on selected games, of course).

EDIT: Using 4DO 1.1.1.1

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:41 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 1329
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Whats your video card and how much ram does it use? and is it shared from the main ram?

Also, your system might be bottlenecked by only having 2GB of ram. I know fourdo shouldn't take much ram but with everything else running and win7... isnt 2gb the minimum for win7? I could very well be wrong, it just doesn't seem like enough ram.

I usualy use the FZ-1 bios so I will go back and make sure something specific isn't happening on that bios alone.

Also, if you could post the section in the log from when this is happening it could show something useful, but imagine I already know what it is going to say. the log should be in the temp folder inside the emulator folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:13 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:02 pm
Posts: 76
Location: United Kingdom
Hi,

The laptop is a HP Pavilion DV9702EA, which has an nVidia GeForce 8400M GS (runs 'Ghostbusters: The Video Game' fine, so it's not really a wimp compared to most laptop graphics cards of it's time - laptop is 5 five years old).

I agree 2GB isn't a lot these days, but my machine is using just over 1GB when freshly booted.

I can use SSF, ePSXe, FreeDO, NullDC all perfectly on this machine, but 4DO doesn't run at a solid 60fps.

Thanks for taking the time to answer! Sample of log below.

Code:
13/11/2011 22:14:32 Had to push ahead current read position. ReadSample:2802   WriteSample:2591
13/11/2011 22:14:33 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:8735   WriteSample:9014
13/11/2011 22:14:35 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:3894   WriteSample:3962
13/11/2011 22:14:36 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:11130   WriteSample:12010
13/11/2011 22:14:37 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:5866   WriteSample:6145
13/11/2011 22:14:38 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:1025   WriteSample:1094
13/11/2011 22:14:38 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:1094   WriteSample:1099
13/11/2011 22:14:39 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:8267   WriteSample:8330
13/11/2011 22:14:41 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:3210   WriteSample:3277
13/11/2011 22:14:41 4DO Shutting down
Object of type SlimDX.DirectInput.Joystick was not disposed. Stack trace of object creation:
Total of 1 objects still alive.
13/11/2011 22:31:35 4DO Starting up
13/11/2011 22:31:37 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:7168   WriteSample:7236
13/11/2011 22:31:37 Had to push ahead current read position. ReadSample:8260   WriteSample:7985
13/11/2011 22:31:38 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:1841   WriteSample:2197
13/11/2011 22:31:39 Had to push ahead current read position. ReadSample:3221   WriteSample:2961
13/11/2011 22:31:40 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:9105   WriteSample:9434
13/11/2011 22:31:40 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:9434   WriteSample:9744
13/11/2011 22:31:41 Had to kick back current read position. ReadSample:3600   WriteSample:4381
13/11/2011 22:31:41 4DO Shutting down
Object of type SlimDX.DirectInput.Joystick was not disposed. Stack trace of object creation:
Total of 1 objects still alive.

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:10 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 1329
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
It looks like the timing is acting up for some reason on your system. Johnny plans to look into the way things are done with the timing before beta is over and see if there is a better way to do things. Even on a more powerful system, I will get a few hiccups but nothing as bad as what you are getting. I pretty much get this same performance on my vista computer. It adjusts the audio playback every second making it sound like it's stuttering. I am not sure when Johnny might have a fix for this, but dont give up hope! Maybe find a different machine to play on if possible. When the emualtor is running great, it does run very well. It runs great on my 2 year old laptop. I could only suggest freeing up as much memory as possible for the time being. Perhaps stopping programs on startup that are unecessary. Good Luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:12 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:12 pm
Posts: 8
4DO has problems on my quad core system as well, seems related to sound. I'm sure Johnny will get it sorted out though.

The fastest 3do emulator I've seen is Phoenix 35.1, but it's all in russian. (the UI).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:04 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:26 am
Posts: 122
Even if it was slightly slower (Which it isn't for me) it's worth it for the perfect video quality. All it lacks is 16:9 support. I've ran both emulators on a Toshiba Qosmio X775 which I bought this Christmas. Good luck to your issue...

_________________
BAD

-Alfred Hitchcock Presents, 3DO


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group