4DO Debugging ?

4DO & Freedo, we have tried playing some 200 games on them - if you have a question we might be able to help!

Moderators: Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
DapOrp
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 4:34 am

4DO Debugging ?

Post by DapOrp » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:52 am

Is there any kind of debugging mode 4DO can be put into ? Specifically to log what files of the 3DO image are being accessed at different points during play?

User avatar
BryWI
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Contact:

Post by BryWI » Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:02 pm

There isn't any debug options to see what files are being accessed at the current time. I am not sure if anyone is actively working on 4DO enough at the moment to add such a feature, but it wouldn't be a bad idea.

There are some debug options that mostly shows CPU/Audio timings that can be accessed via the command line.

http://wiki.fourdo.com/index.php?title= ... ne_Options

User avatar
JohnnyDude
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am

Post by JohnnyDude » Sat Jan 19, 2013 8:46 am

It's indeed true. There is no such option in 4DO.

It would be pretty difficult to do in 4DO, though. Since it's a low-level emulator, it currently does not know what files are being accessed. It knows what sectors of the CD are being read (2k blocks), but it doesn't know the files behind them. It also doesn't know if the game is actually using those sectors or just loading them in case they'll be in use.

Even so, with enough effort, high-level awareness could theoretically be added. It would be a lot of effort, though. I imagine the only way this would occur is if Altmer's HLE emulator is completed and the projects somehow merge. Come to think of it, it's possible his project would have the debug info you're looking for.

Post Reply