3DO ZONE Forums

The Only R.E.A.L. 3DO Experience.
It is currently Tue May 23, 2017 11:57 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 6:10 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 2
Hey,
I was wondering if FreeDO has any minimum requirements to play games properly. I've tried to emulate Wolfenstein 3d (great port) and it was almost unplayable. The FPS are around 20 and the music is very choppy. You'd think that the emulation runs smoothly considering that the game's requirements are a 286 computer. ;)

My system (I know it sucks ;))
AMD sempron (1500 Mhz)
768 MB RAM
ATI Raedon 9250 (128 Mb)

If you have any tips, go ahead. Thx & regards from Germany


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:53 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 1329
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
see if you get a performance boost using version 1.7


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:39 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:22 pm
Posts: 351
Almost every game I've tried on Freedo played at full speed. I ALWAYS have choppy sound, EXCEPT in the videos. Go figure. I wonder if it's a sound card issue, at least in my case...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:30 am 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Posts: 1329
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
there is some bug in 1.8 and 1.9 that with some machines even when they using a very powerful machine, the fps will be very limited and the sound will stutter. I dont think it has been limited to what is causing it. It could be Vista or certain processors, but this bug does not occur in 1.7


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:39 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 5:57 pm
Posts: 2
ok, much better! I get around 30 fps and the sound is "less choppy", you can almost tell that it's music in the background ;)

In the menu, the music is not choppy at all.

I hope the sound emulation will be imroved in the next version...

PS: I use XP, so it's not Vista apparently...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:07 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:38 pm
Posts: 490
Location: Germany
Wow, thanks! I had sound problems using 1.9, when playing Bladeforce.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 7:54 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 7:43 pm
Posts: 6
Emulation isn't efficient and a general rule of thumb is your going to need ~10x more power if the hardware isn't similar. Seeing the 3DO is a RISC processor and the PC is an X86 the emulator has a TON of overhead. But I do remember playing Wolf3D on my 286 :)

I've just downloaded FreeDO and I have played a few games on it so far. Need for Speed and Killing Time run absolutely perfect but Wolf3D is invisible until you get right up to walls and objects. Does anyone know whats up with that??

CPU = AMD 64x2 4800
GPU = Nvidia 8600GTS
Sound = Creative Labs X-Fi Xtreme Gamer

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:08 pm 
Offline
3DO ZERO USER

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 5
-update- Hey, found a copy by doing a search for the exact filename.
http://madroms.free.fr/3do/

Hi, I just started experimenting with 3DO emulators, and the freedo page only has v1.9 and v1.8 available for download. Does anyone have a copy of the v1.7 they can rapidshare?

Thanks a bunch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 11:05 pm 
Offline
3DO ZONE ADMIN
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 3686
Location: U.S.A.
I upped it here http://drop.io/3DOExperience/
It's my self extracting version with run, readme and uninstall links in the start menu.

_________________
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group