Panasonic Q ?

Non-3DO related chat here please.

Moderators: Devin, Bas, 3DOKid

Post Reply
User avatar
mattyg
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 890
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:23 am
Location: Australia

Panasonic Q ?

Post by mattyg » Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:31 pm

I came across a reference to this during my searches and was embarrassed to say I'd never heard of this one. It appears some do not learn from past mistakes - here was a console based on someone else's technology - manufactured by Panasonic , looks awesome with extra features and OVERPRICED!
I was impressed by the the specs on this dvd playing , region unlocked , pimped out GameCube.
Anybody here have one?
I wouldn't mind some feedback before I go looking for one
"purge with fire Bretheren"

3DO is dead , long live 3DO
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_K2kuP_anAc

"The greatest games in the world take seconds to learn but months to master. The worst take months to learn and minutes to finish."...MattyG

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4683
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:46 pm

http://www.hizone.info/data/2004/05/11/ ... onic-q.jpg


sold. I liked the Game Cube styling but ffor me this was better.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:50 pm

I wanted one for my collection but there was no way to justify the price.
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
BryWI
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1334
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 8:16 pm
Location: Kenosha, WI, USA
Contact:

Post by BryWI » Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:01 am

woah that thing is HAWWWT.

User avatar
Lemmi
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1189
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:10 pm
Location: Mich

Post by Lemmi » Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:26 am

3DO Experience wrote:I wanted one for my collection but there was no way to justify the price.
exactly, if it didnt cost so much i would have one, but this is comming from a guy who spent $280 for an original Treamcast. and i wont sell it untill i am able to get every penny i spent back :D
Ex-3DO collector extraordinaire , but i still have my collection
Villagephotos is dead, need to find my old pics and find another host

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:32 am

I can't blame you for paying $280 for that. But $500+ for the Q? nnnaaaaawwww
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
mattyg
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 890
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:23 am
Location: Australia

Post by mattyg » Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:12 am

the more I see the more I want..............aaaaaaaaaaaargh!
I have already sourced a boxed one for about $300 US
The thought of playing resi 4 on a panasonic branded console is just too great. Also I am thinking that the optical out might just set the mood right!
I'll see
What a nice bit of kit though - yet another example of Nintendo's lack of ability in creating cd drives - the first time gave us the CD-i , the second time the psone and now this.
I am truly embarrassed as to not hearing of it till now - but I must have one ..I must .........anyone want to trade for my first born? :wink:
"purge with fire Bretheren"

3DO is dead , long live 3DO
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_K2kuP_anAc

"The greatest games in the world take seconds to learn but months to master. The worst take months to learn and minutes to finish."...MattyG

tinman
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by tinman » Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:15 am

Yep that'll be me.

Can't tell you what it is like as I haven't even switched it on yet, despite winning it on 'that auction site' over a year ago. :oops:

I need to buy a step down transformer (240V to 100V) which is more $$$, before I can even think to switching it on. I have been picking up the odd game here and there and also got a freeloader disc off 'that auction site' so I can play Aussie/US releases on it.

Plus as I'm rather precious about my consoles and the missus cleans the house only weekly and lets her cats in the house and the kids run around recklessly in front of the TV, I'm a bit hesitant to get it out and working for fear of corrupting it with the potential destructive forces in my world. :roll:

For all I know I could have been sold a lemon..but I'm thinking optimistically (which is odd for me).

User avatar
mattyg
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 890
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:23 am
Location: Australia

Post by mattyg » Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:19 am

I've found that the stepdown transformers whilst a little expensive are a must have - my Sanyo TRY is permantly attatched to one - most consoles dont pull too many amps so a mid range one for about $100 will do fine.
Man I'm jealous
"purge with fire Bretheren"

3DO is dead , long live 3DO
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_K2kuP_anAc

"The greatest games in the world take seconds to learn but months to master. The worst take months to learn and minutes to finish."...MattyG

tinman
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:03 pm

Post by tinman » Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:27 am

I've seen a mob in Sydney that manufactures them (step down transformers, that is), and I've sent email enquires to them about a suitable unit considering the specifications of the unit.

The next step is just parting with my cash.... :shock:

User avatar
mattyg
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 890
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:23 am
Location: Australia

Post by mattyg » Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:32 am

Just work out the amps comsumption and go into any Jaycar or DSE store.
"purge with fire Bretheren"

3DO is dead , long live 3DO
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_K2kuP_anAc

"The greatest games in the world take seconds to learn but months to master. The worst take months to learn and minutes to finish."...MattyG

User avatar
pitsunami
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: GREECE

Post by pitsunami » Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:13 pm

I have two panasonic qs...and i can assure you its panasonic AA quality!!
Its really a great machine that i am happy to own. :D

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:04 pm

$300 is still too much in my book. It would be ok it it were still the current generation's console.

I read that the optical out was only for DVD playback, is that true?
"Wait. You don't have a bag of charcoal in your gaming room???"

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4683
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:51 am

3DO Experience wrote:$300 is still too much in my book. It would be ok it it were still the current generation's console.

I read that the optical out was only for DVD playback, is that true?
Arguably it is still "a this generation platform". It's not like the Wii is leagues ahead. :wink:

Post Reply