Homebrew game - Vigoroth the delivery man 3DO (Updated !)

Tools and projects

Is my game working well on real hardware ?

It works like on 4DO !
1
14%
It works well but the game sometimes slowdown
0
No votes
No , the game doesn't work
2
29%
I can't test or I don't have a CD-R to burn your game
4
57%
 
Total votes: 7

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Homebrew game - Vigoroth the delivery man 3DO (Updated !)

Post by blabla » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:14 am

Vigoroth the delivery man for the 3DO !
Image

Ladies & Gentlemen , i present to you my homebrew game for the 3DO !

This 3DO version has 4 different mini-games :
-In the first mini-game , you must deliver 15 packages.
-In the second mini-game , you must avoid the trucks on the road.
-In the third mini-game , you have to collect all the consoles.
-The fourth mini-game is a shooting game. Protect the M2 !

It works well on 4DO with an official bios and on a real 3DO.
I want to thank Rastersoft for his work on the 3DO and his tutorial to set up the devkit.

This port on the 3DO has now sound effects & Music !
Enjoy my game ! :D

DOWNLOAD
Alpha 3 v1.2 (Need to be tested)
Stable Release 1.0 (No music , works on a real 3DO).

Screenshots :
Image
Image
Image
Last edited by blabla on Thu May 23, 2013 12:53 am, edited 9 times in total.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:07 am

Wow Awesome!

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:46 pm

3DO Experience wrote:Wow Awesome!
Thank you !
I'm working on the third mini-game , you will have to collect all the 3DO falling from the trees. If one of them is not collected , you lose.

And it looks like my game is the only homebrew game for 3DO ! (Yoohoo!)

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:57 pm

Thank you!. Keep up the good work! :D
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:24 pm

Trev wrote:Thank you!. Keep up the good work! :D
Thank you everybody !
The third mini-game is already completed !

Image
Image

Now , i'm working on the last mini-game.
You will have to protect your 3DO & M2 and shoot on the Nintendo 64 , the Atari Jaguar & the Sega 32X !

I'll release the complete game (with no sound) tomorrow or maybe this night !
And if you haven't played the demo yet , you should try it at least. (see my first post)
It should work on a real 3DO. (I don't own a 3DO so i don't know)
(Developing games on the 3DO is fast and easy thanks to cdoty and the 3DO company !)

User avatar
Scarlettkitten
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:01 am
Location: Rugby, UK

Post by Scarlettkitten » Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:45 am

Wow, fantastic work 8)
My 3DO collection
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 7c5737b1dc

3x US FZ1s 1xJAP FZ1 & 1x UK Goldstar with knackered cd drive.

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1826
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:26 am

Very cool! I will have to give the demo a try. :)

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:28 am

You should print out inlays and sell these on cd-r once you have it all nailed down. Id buy one.

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:38 pm

The game is completed !
See my first post to download the full version !
grimm wrote:You should print out inlays and sell these on cd-r once you have it all nailed down. Id buy one.
I would like to do that but first , i need to know if my game is working correctly on real hardware and on all 3DO. (Goldstar , Sanyo , Panasonic)
It works on 4DO with an official bios but i need your feedback.
And the game is partially optimized for PAL consoles... Only the first mini-game uses the PAL resolution (384x288) correctly.
Last edited by blabla on Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous » Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:29 am

Sorry, i cant help you there. I dont have my pal machine set up anymore, and i dont mess around with emulators im afraid.. Hopefully someone else can give you feedback on this.

User avatar
JohnnyDude
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am

Post by JohnnyDude » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:02 am

Just throwing my vote in: Great job! :)

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:43 pm

grimm wrote:Sorry, i cant help you there. I dont have my pal machine set up anymore, and i dont mess around with emulators im afraid.. Hopefully someone else can give you feedback on this.
No problem grimm , you can still test on your ntsc machine once you're free.
JohnnyDude wrote: Just throwing my vote in: Great job! :)
Thanks comrade !

Thank you everybody !
I'm planning to add music in my game and then I need to remove any copyright materials. I must know if my game is working well on the 3DO.
Once all of this done , i will be able to sell my game.

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:41 am

I'll try to pull out my Sanyo to see if it works on that ok, it should if it works on the others.
blabla wrote:And it looks like my game is the only homebrew game for 3DO ! (Yoohoo!)
You might want to check out Hosted disc images. The first homebrew game is there as well as mini-games and other projects.

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:36 pm

3DO Experience wrote:I'll try to pull out my Sanyo to see if it works on that ok, it should if it works on the others.
Tell me if my game is working on real hardware !
3DO Experience wrote: You might want to check out Hosted disc images. The first homebrew game is there as well as mini-games and other projects.
Well yeah , it's not technically the first homebew.
But Icebreaker 2 was an unreleased game, 3DO Homebrew pack #1 has some mini-games but it's more a demo than a game , and the rest of the list are just demos and alpha versions so i consider Vigoroth the delivery man to be the first homebrew game. (even though it's a mini-game compilation)

The next update (v1.1) will have :
-Music (It was hard but now it's working and almost complete)
-Language selection (French , English and maybe Russian)
-The truck minigame should be a little faster

User avatar
Old Gregg
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:51 pm
Location: Black Lake

Post by Old Gregg » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:44 pm

I have to agree with Icebreaker 2 being the first home brew. It was made by someone in the industry but I don't think Panasonic ever had plans to publish it. Plus it has a bunch of mini games in it too.
I'm Old Gregg!

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:28 pm

Hey guys !
The game has now music and 3 languages ! Isn't it beautiful ?
Download link at my first post !
Hopefully someone will help me to improve the russian translation...
(I used Google translation)
Old Gregg wrote:I have to agree with Icebreaker 2 being the first home brew. It was made by someone in the industry but I don't think Panasonic ever had plans to publish it. Plus it has a bunch of mini games in it too.
^^'
Then Vigoroth the delivery man is the second homebrew game for the 3DO ,
i think nobody will complain about it !

EDIT : Vigoroth the delivery man works on a real 3DO !
Yeah ! 8)

User avatar
NikeX
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 490
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by NikeX » Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:32 pm

Unbelievable! A pioneer! Thanks!

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1826
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:47 am

I am going to try and test this out soon. Currently my 3DO is not hooked up, but I have space for it in the entertainment center and have planned to hook it back up for a while now (other things always keep me from getting around to it). When I do I will try to burn a disc and give it a try on real hardware. :)

User avatar
Trev
3DO ZONE MOD
Posts: 4033
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:19 pm
Location: States
Contact:

Post by Trev » Sat Mar 23, 2013 7:50 pm

Looks like everyone who voted in this poll can't burn to test ... that is the case for me as my computer is being repaired and I'm stuck using a tablet. :(
Most wanted - Eye of Typhoon, 3DO Magazines issues #14 & #15, Pro Stadium, Defcon 5

User avatar
Austin
Master Poster & Pricing Expert
Posts: 1826
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Fairfax, VA
Contact:

Post by Austin » Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:23 pm

I might try it sooner than expected. I received my massive package of 3DO goodness today from Dreygor, so I'd be lame to not hook my system up again and start digging through those games I got. And burn a copy of this homebrew and try it as well.

User avatar
JohnnyDude
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am

Post by JohnnyDude » Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:50 am

Image

The next release of 4DO will recognize the game. Great work!

Also, great music!

User avatar
3DO Experience
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 3686
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:47 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by 3DO Experience » Sun Mar 31, 2013 8:06 pm

Trev wrote:Looks like everyone who voted in this poll can't burn to test ... that is the case for me as my computer is being repaired and I'm stuck using a tablet. :(
It's just a matter of getting to my 3DO's, you know how hard that can be... for me. :wink:

User avatar
3DOKid
3DO ZONE ADMIN
Posts: 4682
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:21 pm
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Contact:

Post by 3DOKid » Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:26 pm

Just tried it on my PAL 3DO. No joy I'm afraid.

The loading screen comes up, then there is a garbled screen, then the 3DO resets itself :(

User avatar
JohnnyDude
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:56 am

Post by JohnnyDude » Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:25 am

3DOKid wrote:Just tried it on my PAL 3DO. No joy I'm afraid.

The loading screen comes up, then there is a garbled screen, then the 3DO resets itself :(
I just tried on a NTSC Panasonic FZ-1, but it didn't work for me. I haven't tried burned games before, so don't count FZ-1 out!

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:29 pm

Weird... Some russians said that my game was working...
(Someone said on the russian topic that he could not see the entire screen because his TV cuts a bit all the corner , only a Real TV can do this)
To burn the game , try to burn the iso file with ImgBurn at the LOWEST speed as possible.

(An uploader at TheIsoZone says that he burned the 3DO games at 16x with Imgburn so if anyone don't know how to burn a disc...)

I'm gonna release a new version (1.2) very soon...
You can try to burn an earlier version if the current version doesn't work :
Version 1.0

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Post by T2KFreeker » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:55 pm

Okay, just burnt and tried the disc. I am using an NTSC - U FZ-1 model 3DO. It boots up to the loading screen and then jumps to the language select screen. You select the language and then the screen goes black and it reboots back to the 3DO logo and repeats the same thing. Obviously the game tries to start. If you could iron out that bug, would be pretty darn cool to get more homebrew on the 3DO. The system is so nice, it would be nice to see it have the kind of homebrew scene the Jaguar has. Get this running and it's another great step in the right direction!
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Sat Apr 06, 2013 1:25 am

T2KFreeker wrote:It boots up to the loading screen and then jumps to the language select screen. You select the language and then the screen goes black and it reboots back to the 3DO logo and repeats the same thing.
If it boots the language select screen then it has something to do with memory overload or something like that , i'm not sure...
Have you tried the earlier version i posted before your post ?
If the version 1.0 works great then i think the problem is how i load the music... (If that is the problem then i have no idea to find another way to play a music...)
If it's something else then i don't know how to fix this...
Man , this is horrible...

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Post by T2KFreeker » Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:58 am

blabla wrote:
T2KFreeker wrote:It boots up to the loading screen and then jumps to the language select screen. You select the language and then the screen goes black and it reboots back to the 3DO logo and repeats the same thing.
If it boots the language select screen then it has something to do with memory overload or something like that , i'm not sure...
Have you tried the earlier version i posted before your post ?
If the version 1.0 works great then i think the problem is how i load the music... (If that is the problem then i have no idea to find another way to play a music...)
If it's something else then i don't know how to fix this...
Man , this is horrible...
Hmm, no, I have not tried the version 1.0. Perhaps there are other people doing the homebrews that can help out? I will try the version 1.0 also and see what happens. Perhaps if you contact Rastersoft, they could help with this? cdoty was a cool cat when he was in the Jaguar community and used to help developers out there in the development section all the time, if I remember correctly. You might ask him and he might be able to help you out? I'll let you know about version 1.0 shortly.
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

User avatar
blabla
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:23 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by blabla » Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:16 am

T2KFreeker wrote: Hmm, no, I have not tried the version 1.0. Perhaps there are other people doing the homebrews that can help out? I will try the version 1.0 also and see what happens. Perhaps if you contact Rastersoft, they could help with this? cdoty was a cool cat when he was in the Jaguar community and used to help developers out there in the development section all the time, if I remember correctly. You might ask him and he might be able to help you out? I'll let you know about version 1.0 shortly.
I doubt he will be useful right now but i'll contact him anyway...
(It's like resurrecting an old dragon , that's almost impossible...)
Thanks everybody for your support and your help !

EDIT : The last version 1.1 doesn't work on real hardware :/
The 1.0 version does work though...
I need someone who can try this game on a FZ-10 ! (I was using the bios of this system)

User avatar
T2KFreeker
3DO ZERO USER
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:41 am
Location: Parts Unknown

Post by T2KFreeker » Wed Apr 17, 2013 9:30 pm

Hmm, so any luck getting the music issue worked out? I'd love to hear it. Oh, and yes, version 1.0 does work on my FZ-1 system. Sorry about that. Been a bit since I have been around really.
This is a stick up! Put all of your 3DO games in the bag and nobody gets hurt!

Post Reply